© Donauschlinge Schlögen © Oberösterreich Tourismus / Steininger
Donauschlinge Schlögen © Oberösterreich Tourismus / Steininger
SearchSearch
Close

Donausteig Stage 4_G06 Grein - Sarmingstein: „Through the wild Strudengau“

  • Suitable for families
  • culturally interesting
  • Multi-day tour

Download GPS data
Create PDF

Tour-Details

Starting place: 4360 Grein
Destination: 4382 St. Nikola an der Donau

duration: 6h 30m
length: 17,2 km
Altitude difference (uphill): 738m
Altitude difference (downhill): 725m

Lowest point: 228m
Highest point: 508m
difficulty: difficult
condition: very difficult
panoramic view: Dreamtour

Paths covering:
Asphalt, Gravel, Hiking trail


Short description:
The Donausteig-simply fabulous! This stage takes us through the beautiful Donaukerbtal (valley) of the Strudengau. Once feared by sailors due to its treacherous whirlpool, we today enjoy hiking through this exciting piece of Danube history - from Grein past St. Nikola to Sarmingstein. On this stage we discover Grein as the gateway to the Strudengau, the fabled Stillensteinklamm (Gorge), the most dangerous whirlpools of the entire Danube River run, Castle Säbnich as a bastion in the East...



Technique: **



Quality of experience: *****



Recommended season:

  • March
  • April
  • May
  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September
  • October



Properties:

  • Multi-stage route
  • Scenic
  • Refreshment stops available
  • Family friendly
  • Cultural/historical value
  • Geological highlights

Description:
Grein, the gateway to the Strudengau, is the starting point for this beautiful Donausteig-stage. The historic town was once the last safe docking site efore the dangerous water swirls of the Strudengaus! ... Magnificent facades, elegant Bay Windows, testify to wealth through Danube boat trade. We walk on the Danube promenade up to the Halterkreuz (cross) which today still warns of the once first Strudengau obstacle. From there, the Donausteig leads uphill comfortably through a settlement. A short detour to the Kalvarienberg opens up at a Donausteig-view point wonderful views of Grein and shows us an unusual granite gallery. Hereafter, the urban settlement rapidly changes into rural landscapes and into the typical woodland of the Donaukerbtal (valley). On forest paths in the forest, we hike uphill to the view point of Castle Werfenstein. Then forest trails lead us back down to the Danube to the Gießenbach­mühle (mill). Here, one of the most dangerous sections of today starts along the Strudengau!

 


We leave the Danube though straight away and hike through the wild and romantic Gorge of Stillensteinklamm uphill. The quiet creek soon turns into water Cascades and disappears under the stones for about 300 m - a highlight! There, we leave the gorge on the steep Jägersteig. A short time later we walk high above the Danube enjoyably through attractive mixed forests along the Danube valley. Occasional views of the Danube can still only hint of the former dangers. In a forest clearing the Donausteig-resting "Donaublick" invites us to linger and allows a look back onto the Gobelwarte, one of the seven Danube climbing peaks! Historic trails lead us down to a settlement above Struden. The most powerful whirlpool of the entire Danube were once in Struden! From here, we go through scattered settlements further down the Danube and reach past the old Danube road after a short uphill stretch St. Nikola, the Church of the patron saint of seafarers. Here the dangers of today were once survived. From the Donausteig-resting point just below the Church, we have a wonderful look back onto the former danger!


 


The last section of the trail is a walking highlight! First the ancient Church way through magnificent forests leads us up the side of the Valley. Then we walk alone through attractive mixed forests along the Danube valley past meadows to the Moststation Kleinleitner (cyder inn). Here, a grand view far beyond the end of the wild Strudengau, - up to the Ötscher! After a magnificent descent, we reach past the historic castle Säbnich, the historic danube settlement of Sarmingstein, the end of the Strudengau. Simply fabulous!


 


Discover the following features with the Donausteig-diary:


-Grein - the gateway to the Strudengau


-Donausteig-starting point "Grein"


-The castle of Greinburg-the oldest Castle North of the Alps?


-Halterkreuz- votive and warning


-Kalvarienberg-Gallery of granite


-Donausteig-viewing point "Grein"


-castle Werfenstein- toll or chain


-Island Wörth-Rapids and boulders


- ...


Download: Donausteig-diary "Stage 4_G06 Grein Norwich" - yet to follow!



Directions:
From the Donausteig-starting point in Grein we go the Donaulände (park) downstream up to the large junction at the end (on the right side is the Halterkreuz stands on a small rock). There left and right again on a footpath continue uphill between houses. The footpath joins the Jubiläumsstraße (road), which we follow. At the railway underpass a short detour is recommended to the right to the Donausteig-viewing point; to the gallery of granite at the Kalvarienberg. After the railway underpass we follow at the next junction the Wiener path through a housing development - first straight on uphill, later in an arc to the left downhill. At the asphalt road out of the Danube valley, we turn right downhill in the direction of the Danube. Shortly thereafter, the "access road Ramersböck" branches off to the left. On this we bear left uphill. At the farmhouse of Ramersböck the Donausteig makes a switchback and now follows a dirt road uphill. On forest roads, we continue and reach after a longer walking time we reach three granite rocks with petroglyphs and a view of castle Werfenstein. Turn Right through the forest down to the Gießenbachmühle (mill) on the river Danube. From the Donausteig-starting point "St. Nikola/Gießenbachmühle" we walk first through forests, then through idyllic hiking paths uphill to the romantic Stillensteinklamm (gorge). Immediately after the stones, characterized as a distinctive roof, we leave the Stillensteinklamm (gorge) to the right on secured steps. At a farm, a short stretch begins an asphalt road, which we leave in a left turn. We walk past the Donausteig-resting point "Donaublick" to a settlement above Struden (Tree sign with a connection to the Castle Wefenstein) along a comfortable forest road. Here we follow the first left on an asphalt road uphill and after 250 m at the next crossing we turn right downhill - St. Nikola is in sight. After a right turn, the Donausteig turn sharply to the left across from an old factory building. By means of a bridge we cross the Danube River Railway, and continue on a footpath through a row of houses down to the Danube. Now under the railway bridge, the Dimbach and the old paved road lead uphill to the Danube-courtyard in St. Nikola. A short detour takes us from here to the Church of St. Nicholas and the underlying Donausteig-resting point "Kirchenplatz“. Hereafter, we circle the Danube courtyard on the north side. At the next intersection turn first left and then right again. We follow the paved road uphill in the direction of the "Sattl Moststation"until the next turn. There the Donausteig turns left and follows a wonderful forest - first quickly uphill, then enjoyably along the side of the Danube valley - Cyder inn Kleinleitner. The following short asphalt stretch is left already after a bend on to the left across a meadow. An atmospheric forest takes us down to Sarmingstein. Arrived at the train tracks, we follow a footpath to the left and walk passed the round tower of the Castle Säbnich to the houses at the Sarmingbach. Right here, we reach the Donausteig-starting point "Sarmingstein"at the inn Strudengauhof.

 


To facilitate the orientation, the Donausteig was provided with its own system of orientation - you will find the description here  .



Tip:
The  „Oberösterreichische Schifffahrtsmuseum“  (ferry museum) is a must for every Donausteig-hiker! The museum presents the history of the danube boat trips and the usage of the Danube river.

Equipment:
Hiking equipment, drinking bottle. Take into consideration that this is a longer and more tiring stage!

Additional information:
WGD Tourismus GmbH 
Lindengasse 9
4040 Linz, Austria
Tel. +43(0)732/7277-800
Fax. +43(0)732/7277-804 
info@donausteig.com

 


Tourism agency Grein/Donau
Stadtplatz 7
4360 Grein
Tel./Fax: +43(0)7268/7055
info.grein@oberoesterreich.at
www.oberoesterreich.at/grein


 


Tourism agency St. Nikola
4381 St. Nikola/Donau
Tel.: 0043(0)69913030422
tourismus@struden.at 
www.sankt-nikola.at 
www.oberoesterreich.at/st.nikola.donau

Starting point: Grein – the Donausteig-starting point"Grein" is at the Donaulände (park) in a green area between the main road and the parking lots in the direction of the city (Opposite to the Cafe Schinagl with the ferry dock of the opposite tourism Oberösterreich Touristik- the only House directly on the Donaulände!)
Destination: Sarmingstein-the Donausteig-starting point "Sarmingstein" lies directly on the Danube main road at the parking lot south of the inn Strudengauhof (across from the ferry dock).

further information:
  • Multi-day tour
  • Board possible

Accessibility / arrival

Getting there
The Donausteig-starting point "Grein" is located directly on the  Donaulände (park) (Navigation: A-4360 Grein, Donaulände)

Public Transit
Grein can be reach by bus and train. The train stop "Grein stadt" lies the closest to the Donuasteig-starting point. A transfer back from Sarmingstein to Grein is possible by bus and train. Timetables online at http://www.ooevv.at  .

Parking
The parking lot at the  Donaulände  (park) are only short duration parking zones as are the ones in the city center. Two free of charge parking lots are located approx. 10 walking minutes away (Parking lot at the train station  "stadt Grein"; parking lot across from the camping site at the south entrance to the city)

Travelling by public transport
Route planner for independent travellers
  • Suitable for kids (all ages)
Most economical season
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn

Please get in touch for more information.

Donausteig Stage 4_G06 Grein - Sarmingstein: „Through the wild Strudengau“
WGD Donau Oberösterreich Tourismus GmbH
Lindengasse 9
4040 Linz

Phone +43 732 7277 - 800
Fax machine +43 732 7277 - 804
E-Mailinfo.grein@oberoesterreich.at
Webwww.donauregion.at
Webwww.oberoesterreich.at/st.nikola.do…
http://www.donauregion.at
http://www.oberoesterreich.at/st.nikola.donau

We speak the following languages

German

Download GPS data
Create PDF

Tour-Details

Starting place: 4360 Grein
Destination: 4382 St. Nikola an der Donau

duration: 6h 30m
length: 17,2 km
Altitude difference (uphill): 738m
Altitude difference (downhill): 725m

Lowest point: 228m
Highest point: 508m
difficulty: difficult
condition: very difficult
panoramic view: Dreamtour

Paths covering:
Asphalt, Gravel, Hiking trail

© Donauschlinge Schlögen © Oberösterreich Tourismus / Steininger
Donauschlinge Schlögen © Oberösterreich Tourismus / Steininger

Donausteig Etappe 4_G06 Grein - Sarmingstein: „Durch den wilden Strudengau“

  • familientauglich
  • kulturell interessant
  • Mehrtagestour

GPS Daten downloaden
PDF erstellen

Tour-Details

Startort: 4360 Grein
Zielort: 4381 St. Nikola an der Donau

Dauer: 6h 30m
Länge: 16,2 Kilometer
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): 988m
Höhenmeter (abwärts): 972m

niedrigster Punkt: 231m
höchster Punkt: 516m
Schwierigkeit: mittel
Kondition: sehr schwer
Panorama: Traumtour

Wegbelag:
Asphalt, Schotter, Wanderweg

powered by TOURDATA

Kurzbeschreibung:
Donausteig-einfach sagenhaft! Diese Etappe führt uns durch das herrliche Donaukerbtal des Strudengaus. Einst von den Schiffsleuten gefürchtet wegen seiner tückischen Wasser­strudel, wandern wir heute genussvoll durch dieses spannende Stück Donau­geschichte - von Grein über St. Nikola nach Sarmingstein. Dabei entdecken wir Grein als das Tor zum Strudengau, die sagenumwobene Stillensteinklamm, die gefährlichsten Wasserwirbel des gesamten Donaulaufes, Burg Säbnich als Bollwerk im Osten, …



Technik: **



Erlebniswert: *****



Empfohlene Jahreszeiten:

  • März
  • April
  • Mai
  • Juni
  • Juli
  • August
  • September
  • Oktober



Eigenschaften:

  • Etappentour
  • aussichtsreich
  • Einkehrmöglichkeit
  • familienfreundlich
  • kulturell / historisch
  • geologische Highlights



Gütesiegel:

  • Österreichisches Wandergütesiegel

Beschreibung:

 


Grein, das Tor zum Strudengau, ist Ausgangspunkt für diese herrliche Donausteig-Etappe. Die historische Stadt war einst die letzte sichere Anlegemöglichkeit vor den gefährlichen Wasserstrudeln des Strudengaus! Prächtige Fassaden, vornehme Erker, … zeugen von Wohlstand durch die Donauschifffahrt. Auf der Donau­promenade spazieren wir bis zum Halterkreuz, das heute noch immer vor dem einst ersten Strudengau-Hindernis warnt. Von dort führt der Donausteig gemütlich durch Siedlungsgebiet bergan. Ein kurzer Abstecher zum Kalvarienberg eröffnet an einem Donausteig-Blickplatz einen wunderbaren Blick über Grein und zeigt uns eine ungewöhnliche Galerie in Granit. Danach geht das städtische Siedlungsgebiet rasch in eine bäuerliche Kultur­landschaft und weiter in die typische Waldlandschaft des steilen Donaukerbtales über. Über Forstwege wandern wir im Wald bergauf bis zum Blick auf Burg Werfenstein. Dann führen uns Waldwege wieder hinunter an die Donau zur Gießenbach­mühle. Hier begann auf der Donau einst der gefährlichste Abschnitt des Strudengaus!


 


 


 


Wir verlassen die Donau jedoch gleich wieder und wandern durch die wildromantische Stillensteinklamm bergauf. Der ruhige Bach geht bald in spritzende Wasserkaskaden über und verschwindet plötzlich unter der Steinernen Stube für rund 300 m unter der Erde – ein Highlight! Dort verlassen wir die Klamm über den steilen Jägersteig. Kurze Zeit später wandern wir hoch über der Donau genussvoll durch stimmungsvolle Mischwälder entlang des Donautales. Vereinzelte Tiefblicke auf den Donau­strom lassen die einstige Gefährlichkeit heute nur noch erahnen. In einer Waldlichtung lädt uns der Donausteig-Rastplatz „Donaublick“ zum Verweilen ein und erlaubt einen Blick zurück auf die Gobelwarte, einem der sieben Donausteig-Gipfel! Historische Waldwege führen uns hinunter in eine Siedlung oberhalb von Struden. In Struden waren einst die mächtigsten Wasserstrudel des gesamten Donaulaufes! Von hier gehen wir über Streusiedlungen weiter hinunter zur Donau und erreichen über die alte Donaustraße nach kurzem bergauf St. Nikola, den Ort der Kirche des Schutzpatrons der Schiffsleute. Hier waren einst die Gefahren des Strudengaus über­standen und Zeit, sich dafür Dankbarkeit zu erweisen. Vom Donausteig-Rastplatz unter­halb der Kirche haben wir einen wundervollen Blick zurück auf die einstigen Gefahrenstellen!


 


 


 


Der letzte Wegabschnitt ist ein absolutes Wanderhighlight! Zuerst führt uns der uralte Kirchenweg durch herrlichen Waldbestand die Talflanke hoch. Dann wandern wir einsam durch stimmungsvolle Mischwälder entlang des Donautales vorbei an einzelnen Wiesen bis zur Moststation Kleinleitner. Hier eröffnet sich ein grandioser Blick weit über das Ende des wilden Strudengaus hinaus - bis zum Ötscher! Nach einem herrlichen Abstieg erreichen wir, vorbei an der geschichtsträchtigen Burg Säbnich, den historischen Donauort Sarmingstein, das Ende des Strudengaus. Einfach sagenhaft!


 


 


 


Entdecken Sie mit dem Donausteig-Tagebuch folgende Besonderheiten:


 


- Grein-das Tor zum Strudengau


 


- Donausteig-Startplatz „Grein“


 


- Schloss Greinburg-das älteste Schloss nördlich der Alpen?


 


- Halterkreuz-Votiv und Warnung


 


- Kalvarienberg-Galerie in Granit


 


- Donausteig-Blickplatz „Grein“


 


- Burg Werfenstein-Maut oder Kette


 


- Insel Wörth-Stromschnellen und Felsblöcke


 


- ...


 


 


 


Download: Donausteig-Tagebuch Etappe 4_G06 Grein-Sarmingstein


 


 


 



Wegbeschreibung:

Vom Donausteig-Startplatz in Grein gehen wir die Donaulände stromabwärts bis zur großen Kreuz­ung am Ortsende (rechts davon steht das Halterkreuz auf einem kleinen Donaufelsen). Dort links und gleich wieder rechts auf einem Fußweg zwischen den Häusern bergauf. Der Fußweg mündet in die Jubiläumsstraße, welcher wir folgen. An der Bahnunterführung empfiehlt sich ein kurzer Abstecher nach rechts zum Donausteig-Blickplatz bzw. zur Galerie in Granit auf dem Kalvarienberg. Nach der Bahnunterführung folgen wir an der nächsten Kreuzung dem Wienerweg durch eine Wohnsiedlung - zuerst gerade bergauf, später in einem Linksbogen bergab. Bei der Asphaltstraße aus dem Donautal biegen wir rechts bergab Richtung Donau ab. Kurz danach zweigt links die „Zufahrt Ramersböck“ ab. Auf dieser halten wir uns links bergauf. Vor dem Bauernhof Ramersböck macht der Donausteig eine Spitzkehre und folgt nun einem Feldweg weiter bergauf. Über waldreiche Forststraßen erreichen wir nach längerer Gehzeit drei Granitfelsen mit Petroglyphen und Blick auf Burg Werfenstein. Nun rechts durch den Wald bergab bis zur Gießenbachmühle an der Donau. Vom Donausteig-Startplatz „St. Nikola/Gießenbachmühle“wandern wir zuerst über Forststraßen, dann über idyllische Wanderpfade die romantische Stillensteinklamm bergauf. Unmittelbar nach der Steinernen Stube, einem markanten Überhang, verlassen wir die Stillensteinklamm rechts über ein versichertes Steiglein. Bei einem Bauernhof beginnt anschließend ein kurzes Stück Asphaltstraße, welche wir in einer Linkskurve wieder verlassen. Entlang eines gemütlichen Waldweges wandern wir vorbei am Donausteig-Rastplatz „Donaublick“ bis zu einer Siedlung oberhalb von Struden (Schilderbaum mit Abzweigung zur Burg Werfenstein). Hier folgen wir der Asphaltstraße zuerst links bergauf und nach 250 m an der nächsten Kreuzung rechts bergab - St. Nikola ist dabei im Blick. Nach einer Rechtskurve biegt der Donausteig gegenüber eines alten Fabriksgebäudes scharf links ab. Ein Fußweg führt mittels Brücke über die Donauuferbahn, weiter durch Häuserreihen bis hinunter zur Donau. Nun unter der Eisenbahnbrücke durch, über den Dimbach und die alte Pflasterstraße bergauf zum Donau-Hof in St. Nikola. Ein kurzer Abstecher bringt uns von hier zur Kirche St. Nikola und dem dahinterliegenden Donausteig-Rastplatz „Kirchenplatz“. Für den Weiter­weg umrunden wir den Donau-Hof auf der Nordseite. An der nächsten Kreuzung zuerst links und dann gleich wieder rechts. Wir folgen dem asphaltierten Güterweg Richtung „Sattl Moststation“ bergauf bis zur nächsten Kurve. Dort biegt der Donausteig links ab und folgt einem wunder­vollen Waldweg - zuerst rasch bergauf, dann genussvoll entlang der Donautalflanke - bis zur Moststation Kleinleitner. Das folgende kurze Asphaltstück verlassen wir bereits nach einer Kehre wieder Richtung links über eine Wiese. Ein stimmungsvoller Waldweg bringt uns hinunter nach Sarmingstein. An den Bahngleisen angekommen, folgen wir einem Fußweg links davon und wandern am Rundturm der Burg Säbnich vorbei bis zu den Häusern am Sarmingbach. Dort rechts erreichen wir den Donausteig-Startplatz „Sarmingstein“beim Gasthof Strudengauhof.


 


Um Ihnen die Orientierung zu erleichtern, wurde der Donausteig mit einem eigenen Orientierungssystem versehen - die Beschreibung finden Sie hier .


 



Tipp des Autors:
Das „Oberösterreichische Schifffahrtsmuseum“ ist quasi ein muss für jeden Donausteig-Wanderer! Es eröffnet anschaulich die Welt der historischen Donauschifffahrt und der Nutzung der Donaunebenflüsse.

Ausrüstung:
Zusätzlich zur persönlichen Wanderausrüstung gibt es keine besonderen Erfordernisse. Jedoch beachten, dass es eine lange und anstrengende Etappe ist!

Weitere Infos und Links:

WGD Donau Oberösterreich Tourismus GmbH
Lindengasse 9
4040 Linz, Austria
Tel. +43(0)732/7277-800
Fax. +43(0)732/7277-804
info@donausteig.com


Tourismusverband Grein/Donau
Stadtplatz 7
4360 Grein
Tel./Fax: +43(0)7268/7055
info.grein@oberoesterreich.at
www.oberoesterreich.at/grein


Tourismusverband St. Nikola
4381 St. Nikola/Donau
Tel.: 0043(0)69913030422
tourismus@struden.at
www.sankt-nikola.at
www.oberoesterreich.at/st.nikola.donau



 

Ausgangspunkt: Grein - der Donausteig-Startplatz „Grein“ liegt an der Donaulände in einem Grünstreifen zwischen der Hauptstraße und Parkplätzen in Stadtrichtung (Gegenüber ist das Cafe Schinagl mit dem Schiffsanleger der Oberösterreich Touristik - das einzige Haus direkt auf der Donau¬lände!)
Zielpunkt: Sarmingstein - der Donausteig-Startplatz „Sarmingstein“ liegt direkt an der Donau Bundes-straße am Parkplatz südlich des Gasthauses Strudengauhof (Gegenüber der Schiffs¬anlege-stelle).

Weitere Informationen:
  • Mehrtagestour
  • Verpflegungsmöglichkeit

Erreichbarkeit / Anreise

Anfahrt
Der Donausteig-Startplatz „Grein“ befindet sich direkt an der Donaulände (Navi: A-4360 Grein, Donaulände)

 



Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel
Grein kann mit Bahn und Bus erreicht werden. Die Bahnhaltestelle „Grein Stadt“ liegt dabei dem Zentrum und damit auch dem Donausteig-Startplatz am nächsten. Ein Rücktransfer von Sarmingstein nach Grein ist ebenfalls via Bahn und Bus möglich. Informationen über die Fahrzeiten finden Sie unter http://www.ooevv.at .

 



Parken
Die Parkplätze an der Donaulände sind ebenso wie das Stadtzentrum großteils Kurz­park­zonen. Zwei kostenlose Dauerparkplätze befinden sich ca. 10 Gehminuten entfernt (Park­platz bei der Bahnhaltestelle „Stadt Grein“; Parkplatz gegenüber des Campingplatzes auf der Südzufahrt zur Stadt). Parkgebühren

Die Parkplätze an der Donaulände sind ebenso wie das Stadtzentrum großteils Kurz­park­zonen. Zwei kostenlose Dauerparkplätze befinden sich ca. 10 Gehminuten entfernt (Park­platz bei der Bahnhaltestelle „Stadt Grein“; Parkplatz gegenüber des Campingplatzes auf der Südzufahrt zur Stadt).

Anreise mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln
Routenplaner für individuelle Anreise
  • Für Kinder geeignet (jedes Alter)
günstigste Jahreszeit
  • Frühling
  • Sommer
  • Herbst

Für Informationen beim Kontakt anfragen.

Donausteig Etappe 4_G06 Grein - Sarmingstein: „Durch den wilden Strudengau“
WGD Donau Oberösterreich Tourismus GmbH
Lindengasse 9
4040 Linz

Telefon +43 732 7277 - 800
Fax +43 732 7277 - 804
E-Mailinfo.grein@oberoesterreich.at
Webwww.donauregion.at
Webwww.oberoesterreich.at/st.nikola.do…
http://www.donauregion.at
http://www.oberoesterreich.at/st.nikola.donau

Wir sprechen folgende Sprachen

Deutsch

GPS Daten downloaden
PDF erstellen

Tour-Details

Startort: 4360 Grein
Zielort: 4381 St. Nikola an der Donau

Dauer: 6h 30m
Länge: 16,2 Kilometer
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): 988m
Höhenmeter (abwärts): 972m

niedrigster Punkt: 231m
höchster Punkt: 516m
Schwierigkeit: mittel
Kondition: sehr schwer
Panorama: Traumtour

Wegbelag:
Asphalt, Schotter, Wanderweg

powered by TOURDATA