Donauschlinge Schlögen © Oberösterreich Tourismus / Steininger

Accommodation Booking

Your enquiry

Please fill in all fields marked *.

The information you provide (email address, enquiry; optional: form of address, title, prename, surname, telephone number) is exclusively used by WGD Donau Oberösterreich Tourismus GmbH to process your request and is only disclosed if the request is to be answered by third parties (e.g. tourism service providers). See also the Privacy Notice.

Donausteig Stage 4_G03 Mauthausen - Perg: „From granite art and millstones“

Download GPS data
Create PDF

Tour-Details

Starting place: 4310 Mauthausen
Destination: 4320 Perg

duration: 3h 45m
length: 12,6 km
Altitude difference (uphill): 164m
Altitude difference (downhill): 153m

Lowest point: 238m
Highest point: 333m
difficulty: easy
condition: medium
panoramic view: Great panorama

Paths covering:
Asphalt, Gravel, Hiking trail

powered by TOURDATA

Short description:
The Donausteig-simply fabulous! This stage leads us from Mauthausen along the Danube through the cultivated plains of the Machland and the panoramic hills of the Mühlviertel (region) to Perg on the northern edge of the Machland. We discover the Mauthausen art of granite , the salt road to Bohemia, the secrets of porcelain, the Perger Millstone crushers...

 



Technique: *



Quality of experience: *****



Recommended season:

  • March
  • April
  • May
  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September
  • October



Properties:

  • Multi-stage route
  • Refreshment stops available
  • Cultural/historical value



Seal of approval:

  • Quality route according to "Österreichisches Wandergütesiegel"

Description:
Starting point for this leg of the Donausteig is Mauthausen. The Mühlviertler hills fall steeply down to the Danube. The historical market is situated on the Danube opposite the Ennsmündung (river mouth). The magnificent shore line and the lovely town centre bear witness to a wealth-generating past through toll stations, and salt and granite trade. The variety of wonderful works of granite - granite art in highest perfection is unique to Mauthausen. We start on the beautiful shore line and follow the Danube River to the old Heinrichskirche (church) at the market. Here we leave the Danube and move comfortably over partly forested hills back to the fabled Heinrichsbründl. Shortly afterwards we are further down in the cultivated Plains of the Machland: small settlements, fertile fields, peasant farms and small forest stretches dominate the landscape. On quiet back roads and rural filed paths we wander through the vastness of the Machland on the other side of the plane. The International Soldiers Cemetery here reminds us of the dark ages of history. In the rural village of Aisthofen, once an important Manor House, starts a short climb into the hills of the Mühlviertel. After a few minutes, the Donausteig-resting point "Weinbau, Gmeiner, Weinzirl" is reached - the scenic highlight of this stage! The view go far from the mystical Ötscher (mountain) in the Mostviertel to the striking Traunstein (mountain) in the Salzkammergut region. The further hilly pathway varies through open landscapes and shady woodlands. At the unusual Kalvarienberg­kirche (church) of Perg, we once again arrive at the edge of the Mühlviertler hills – on a magnificent terrace the city of Perg and the Machland lie at our feets. After a short descent, we are on the main square of the historical city of Perg, formerly know due to its millstone crushers - simply fabulous!

 


Discover the following features with the Donausteig-diary:


-Mauthausen-the center for granite art


-Donausteig-starting point "Mauthausen"


-Granite sculpture "Monolith with a bike"


-The Enns-iron in the River


-Monument "Rollfähre"


-The salt Tower-the "traffic light" of the salt road


-A well for the world's fair


-Heinrichskirche-sanctuary for the salt merchants


- ...


 


Download: Donausteig-diary "Stage 4_G03 Mauthausen PERG" - yet to follow!



Directions:
From the Donausteig-starting point at the shore line in Mauthausen, we follow the Heindlkai downstream through the Archway of the old master ship house. A few metres on we walk on the Vormarktstrasse (street), passing the Heinrichskirche (church). At the next major intersection, turn left onto Vormarktstrasse (street). After a few metres, a gravel road leads uphill through the forest. At the T-intersection in the village keep to the right and a few meters later follow the road left. At the intersection to the Eschenweges (path), turn right and continue up to the end of the settlement (forest edge). There a foot and later field/forest trail branches off to the left. After a short time, the Heinrichsbründl is reached. Here, we follow the asphalt road downhill and turn left at the next intersection (large Vierkanthof (farm)) in the Gutshofweg (path). After crossing the railroad tracks, continue straight across the heavily trafficked Freistädter Steet into the Kindergartenstrasse (street). The buildings of Heinrichbrunn are passed on the right. Hereafter the wide Machlandstrasse (own walking and cycling Strip) is followed left across the fields. Turn at the next junction (beginning of the settlement) first left and then right again into the Professor-Gerstmayr-Straße (street). Pass the International Soldiers Cemetery and reach the settlement Hinterholz. After a slight right turn to the left continue towards Neuhart. Follow the dirt road through the fields left after the houses in Neuhart. On the asphalt road into the forest first turn left and after a few metres on the edge of the forest (large tree image monument) turn right again. Here, we go on to the village of Althart. At the next intersection turn right and continue straight towards the East following the asphalt road. We cross the Naarnfluss and follow the dirt road at the beginning upstream, later however we cross the fields and continue to Aisthofen. There, we cross the main road at the large Chapel. Now a paved road continue uphill initially. This road quickly turns into a dirt road and guides us passed the Donausteig-Resting point „Weinbau Gmeiner, Weinzierl“ and to the rural village of Weinzierl. At the junction in the village we take the asphalt road left uphill. At the next crossing (shortly before a chapel) turn left again uphill. The road now go first up over a ridge and then into a small basin. There we turn right at the second crossing and follow the trail through woodland sand meadows passing Donausteig-viewing point. At the settlement of Zeitling turn first left and on the asphalt road keep again to the left. The small asphalt road leads in the wide arc Northeast. At the next intersection turn right and follow the road, which later turns into a narrow footpath continuing down to the cemetery of Perg. At the paved cemetery road briefly continue left uphill to the Kalvarienbergkirche (church). From there a well constructed footpath passes two beautiful Donausteig-viewing points down to the Friedhofstraße (street). Walk left downhill to Linzer Straße (street). There left and after 100 m the main square of Pergis reached with its Donausteig-starting point.

 


To facilitate the orientation, the Donausteig was provided with its own system of orientation - you will find the description here .



Tip:
Take a tour of the small alleys of Mauthausen -the many different details of the Granite art are just magnifcent!

Equipment:
sturdy shoes. food and drink opportunites are only possible with small detours on this tour!

Additional information:
WGD Tourismus GmbH 
Lindengasse 9
4040 Linz, Austria
Tel. +43(0)732/7277-800
Fax. +43(0)732/7277-804 
info@donausteig.com

 


Tourism agency Mauthausen
Heindlkai 13
4310 Mauthausen
Tel.: +43(0)7238/2243 od. 2023-0 Fax: DW-51
mauthausen@oberoesterreich.at
www.tiscover.com/mauthausen
www.mauthausen.biz


 


Perg marketing office
Linzerstr. 2
4320 Perg
Tel.: +43(0)7262/53150 Fax: DW 16
info@perg.at
www.stadtmarketing.perg.at 
www.perg.at


 

Starting point: Mauthausen - the Donausteig-starting "Mauthausen" is located at the Tourism Office (on the waterfront) southeast of Schloss Pragstein (castle) near the stone sculptures.
Destination: Perg - The Donausteig-starting point "Perg" lies in the north eastern part of the main square (tree group with fountain across from the parish church)

further information:
  • Multi-day tour
  • Board possible

Mauthausen Pharmacy Museum

Mauthausen Pharmacy Museum

The Pharmacy Museum is a treasure trove of information, medicines, books, and equipment dating back to the late 1800s. Housed on the first floor of Pragstein Castle, the Museum is intended to preserve the history of pharmacy and to provide the public with an opportunity to learn more...

Perg Local Heritage & Municipal Museum

Perg Local Heritage & Municipal Museum

The Museum´s main focus is on granite and the working of granite. In particular, Perg was the home of millstone production. There are interesting documents on the history of Mitterberg, the Castle in Ruins, and the former administration center. Ratgöbluckn: The 106 meters long...

Shipping Pier Mauthausen

Shipping Pier Mauthausen

River miles: 2112,5+25 bis 2112,4+20Shore: left bankSystem: pipe pontoonHarbour regulations: 2 boats (max. width 24 m)Boarding height: 1,52 mInfrastructure: on demand at WGD"Danube – and Granite"The shipping pier Mauthausen is situated centrally along the Danube Promenade, near the town centre with its...

Mauthausen Pharmacy Museum

Mauthausen Pharmacy Museum

The Pharmacy Museum is a treasure trove of information, medicines, books, and equipment dating back to the late 1800s. Housed on the first floor of Pragstein Castle, the Museum is intended to preserve the history of pharmacy and to provide the public with an opportunity to learn more...

Perg Local Heritage & Municipal Museum

Perg Local Heritage & Municipal Museum

The Museum´s main focus is on granite and the working of granite. In particular, Perg was the home of millstone production. There are interesting documents on the history of Mitterberg, the Castle in Ruins, and the former administration center. Ratgöbluckn: The 106 meters long...

Shipping Pier Mauthausen

Shipping Pier Mauthausen

River miles: 2112,5+25 bis 2112,4+20Shore: left bankSystem: pipe pontoonHarbour regulations: 2 boats (max. width 24 m)Boarding height: 1,52 mInfrastructure: on demand at WGD"Danube – and Granite"The shipping pier Mauthausen is situated centrally along the Danube Promenade, near the town centre with its...

Accessibility / arrival

Getting there
The Donausteig-starting point "Mauthausen" is located next to the Tourism office of Mautahusen on the river promenade south east of Schloss Pragstein (castle) (Navigation: A-4310 Mauthausen, Heindlkai 13).

Public Transit
Mauthausen can be reach by train or bus. A transfer back from Perg to Mauthausen is possible as well by bus and train. The bus drives directly from the Perger main square to the Mauthausener market place. Take notice that when taking the train the station are further away from their resepctive main squares. Timetables online at http://www.ooevv.at  .

Parking
The market center of Mauthausen is mostly only a short period parking zone - this counts also for the parking lots in its vicinity. A parking lot free of charge is about 5 walking minutes away (directly at the Donau Bndesstrasse (main road) north west of Schloss Pragstein (castle); close to the primary school)

Travelling by public transport
Route planner for independent travellers
Most economical season
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn

Please get in touch for more information.

Donausteig Stage 4_G03 Mauthausen - Perg: „From granite art and millstones“
WGD Donau Oberösterreich Tourismus GmbH
Lindengasse 9
4040 Linz

+43 732 7277 - 800
+43 732 7277 - 804
mauthausen@oberoesterreich.at
www.donauregion.at
www.tiscover.com/mauthausen
http://www.donauregion.at
http://www.tiscover.com/mauthausen

We speak the following languages

German

Download GPS data
Create PDF

Tour-Details

Starting place: 4310 Mauthausen
Destination: 4320 Perg

duration: 3h 45m
length: 12,6 km
Altitude difference (uphill): 164m
Altitude difference (downhill): 153m

Lowest point: 238m
Highest point: 333m
difficulty: easy
condition: medium
panoramic view: Great panorama

Paths covering:
Asphalt, Gravel, Hiking trail

powered by TOURDATA

© Donauschlinge Schlögen © Oberösterreich Tourismus / Steininger
Donauschlinge Schlögen © Oberösterreich Tourismus / Steininger

Donausteig Etappe 4_G03 Mauthausen - Perg: „Von Granitkunst und Mühlsteinbrechern“

GPS Daten downloaden
PDF erstellen

Tour-Details

Startort: 4310 Mauthausen
Zielort: 4320 Perg

Dauer: 3h 45m
Länge: 12,6 Kilometer
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): 164m
Höhenmeter (abwärts): 153m

niedrigster Punkt: 238m
höchster Punkt: 333m
Schwierigkeit: leicht
Kondition: mittel
Panorama: tolles Panorama

Wegbelag:
Asphalt, Schotter, Wanderweg

powered by TOURDATA

Kurzbeschreibung:

Donausteig-einfach sagenhaft! Diese Etappe führt uns von Mauthausen an der Donau durch die kultivierte Ebene des Machlandes und über das panoramareiche Mühlviertler Hügelland nach Perg am Nordrand des Machlandes. Dabei entdecken wir die Granitkunst von Mauthausen, die Salzstraße nach Böhmen, das Geheimnis des Porzellans, die Perger Mühlsteinbrecher, ...


 



Technik: *



Erlebniswert: *****



Empfohlene Jahreszeiten:

  • März
  • April
  • Mai
  • Juni
  • Juli
  • August
  • September
  • Oktober



Eigenschaften:

  • Etappentour
  • Einkehrmöglichkeit
  • kulturell / historisch



Gütesiegel:

  • Österreichisches Wandergütesiegel

Beschreibung:

Ausgangsort für diese Donausteig-Etappe ist Mauthausen. Das Mühlviertler Hügelland fällt hier steil zur Donau ab. Der historische Markt liegt direkt am Donaustrom gegenüber der Ennsmündung. Die prächtige Uferzeile und der schmucke Ortskern zeugen von einer wohlstandsbringenden Vergangenheit durch Maut, Salz und Granit. Einzigartig ist in Mauthausen die Vielzahl an wundervollen Granitarbeiten - Granitkunst in höchster Perfektion! Wir starten an der prachtvollen Ufer­zeile und folgen dem Donaufluss bis zur alten Heinrichskirche an der ehe­maligen Salzlände des Marktes. Hier verlassen wir die Donau und wandern gemütlich über einen teils bewaldeten Hügelrücken zum sagenumwobenen Heinrichsbründl. Weiter bergab stehen wir kurz danach in der kultivierten Ebene des Machlandes: kleine Siedlungen, fruchtbare Felder, bäuerliche Gehöfte und kleine Wald­stücke prägen dort das Landschaftsbild. Über ruhige Nebenstraßen und bäuerliche Feld­wege wandern wir durch die Weite des Machlandes auf die andere Seite der Ebene. Der Internationale Soldatenfriedhof erinnert uns dabei an die dunklen Zeiten der Geschichte. In der bäuerlichen Ortschaft Aisthofen, einst ein bedeutender Herrensitz, beginnt ein kurzer Anstieg in das Mühlviertler Hügelland. Nach wenigen Minuten ist der Donausteig-Rastplatz „Weinbau Gmeiner, Weinzirl“ erreicht - der landschaftliche Höhepunkt dieser Etappe! Weit schweifen hier die Blicke vom mystischen Ötscher im Mostviertel bis bin zum markanten Traunstein im Salzkammergut. Der hügelige Weiterweg erfolgt abwechslungsreich durch offene Kulturlandschaft und schattige Waldstücke. Bei der ungewöhnlichen Kalvarienberg­kirche von Perg sind wir wieder am Rand des Mühlviertler Hügellandes angelangt - auf einem herrlichen Blickbalkon liegen uns die Stadt Perg und das Machland zu Füssen. Nach einem kurzen Abstieg stehen wir am stimmungsvollen Hauptplatz der historischen Stadt Perg, früher weitbekannt durch ihre Mühlsteinbrüche - einfach sagenhaft!


 


Entdecken Sie mit dem Donausteig-Tagebuch folgende Besonderheiten:


- Mauthausen-das Zentrum der Granitkunst


- Donausteig-Startplatz „Mauthausen“


- Granitskulptur „Monolith mit Fahrrad“


- Die Enns-Eisen im Fluss


- Gedenkstein „Rollfähre“


- Der Salzturm-die „Ampel“ der Salzstraße


- Ein Brunnen für die Weltausstellung


- Heinrichskirche-Wallfahrtsort der Salzhändler


- ...


 


Download: Donausteig-Tagebuch Etappe 4_G03 Mauthausen-Perg


 



Wegbeschreibung:

 Vom Donausteig-Startplatz an der Uferzeile in Mauthausen folgen wir dem Heindlkai donauabwärts durch den Torbogen des alten Schiffsmeisterhauses. Wenige Meter danach wandern wir auf der Vormarktstraße weiter, vorbei an der Heinrichskirche. An der nächsten großen Kreuzung links in die Vormarktstraße einbiegen. Nach wenigen Metern führt eine Schotterstraße rasch durch den Wald bergauf. An der T-Kreuzung in der Siedlung rechts halten und wenige Meter später dem linken Straßenverlauf folgen. An der Kreuzung des Eschenweges rechts bis zum Ende der Siedlungsstraße (Waldrand) gehen. Dort zweigt links ein Fuß- und späterer Feld- bzw. Waldweg ab. Nach kurzer Zeit ist das Heinrichsbründl erreicht. Weiter folgen wir der Asphaltstraße bergab und biegen an der nächsten Kreuzung (großer Vierkanthof) links in den Gutshofweg ein. Nach der Querung der Eisenbahnschienen geht es geradeaus über die stark befahrene Freistädter Straße in die Kindergartenstraße. Die Wohnblöcke von Heinrichsbrunn werden in weitem Rechtsbogen passiert. Im Anschluss der breiten Machlandstraße (eigener Geh- und Radstreifen) nach links über die Felder folgen. An der nächsten Abzweigung (Siedlungsanfang) zuerst links und dann gleich wieder rechts in die Professor-Gerstmayr-Straße einbiegen. Vorbei am Internationalen Soldaten­friedhof erreichen wir die Siedlung Hinterholz. Nach einer leichten Rechtskurve links Richtung Neuhart weitergehen. Bei den Häusern von Neuhart links dem Feldweg über die Felder folgen. Auf der Asphaltstraße am Wald zuerst links und nach wenigen Metern am Waldrand (großer Baumbildstock) gleich wieder rechts. Hier umgehen wir die Siedlung Althart. An der nächsten Kreuzung rechts abzweigen und der Asphaltstraße geradewegs Richtung Osten folgen. Wir überqueren den Naarnfluss und folgen dem Feldweg anfangs flussaufwärts, später geradewegs über die Felder nach Aisthofen. Dort überqueren wir die Hauptstraße bei der großen Kapelle. Nun führt uns anfänglich eine Asphaltstraße bergauf. Diese geht jedoch rasch in einen Feldweg über und geleitet uns am Donausteig-Rastplatz „Weinbau Gmeiner, Weinzierl“vorbei zur bäuerlichen Ortschaft Weinzierl. An der Kreuzung in der Ortschaft nehmen wir die Asphaltstraße links bergauf. An der nächsten Kreuzung (kurz vor einer Kapelle) auch wieder links bergauf abzweigen. Die Straße führt nun über eine Kuppe in eine Senke. Dort biegen wir an der zweiten Kreuzung nach rechts ab und folgen dem Weg durch Wald und Wiesen vorbei an einem Donausteig-Blickplatz. An der Siedlung von Zeitling zuerst links und an der Asphaltstraße wieder links halten. Die kleine Asphaltstraße führt im weiten Bogen nach Nordosten. An der nächsten Kreuzung rechts abbiegen und anfangs einer Straße, später einem schmalen Fußweg bergab zum Friedhof von Perg folgen. An der asphaltierten Friedhofstraße kurz links bergan zur Kalvarienbergkirche gehen. Von dort führt ein gut ausgebauter Fußweg vorbei an zwei schönen Donausteig-Blickplätzen hinunter zur Friedhofstraße. Auf dieser links bergab bis zur Linzerstraße spazieren. Dort links und nach ca. 100 m ist der Hauptplatz von Perg mit seinem Donausteig-Startplatz erreicht.


 
Um Ihnen die Orientierung zu erleichtern, wurde der Donausteig mit einem eigenen Orientierungssystem versehen - die Beschreibung finden Sie hier .


 


 


 



Tipp des Autors:
Ein Rundgang durch die verwinkelten Gassen von Mauthausen - die Vielfalt und der Detail­reichtum der Granitarbeiten sind einfach sagenhaft!

Ausrüstung:
Zusätzlich zur persönlichen Wanderausrüstung gibt es keine besonderen Erfordernisse. In Hinblick auf Verpflegung ist berücksichtigen, dass die Gastronomiebetriebe dieser Etappe nur durch Abstecher vom Donausteig erreichbar sind!

Weitere Infos und Links:

Mauthausen Tourismus & Dorf- u. Stadtentwicklung
Marktstraße 2
4310 Mauthausen
Tel.: +43(0)7238/2243 od. 2023-0 Fax: DW-51
info@mauthausen.info
www.mauthausentourismus.com


 


Stadtmarketing Perg
Dr.-Schober-Straße 10
4320 Perg
Tel.: +43(0)7262/53150 Fax: DW 16
info@perg.at
www.stadtmarketing.perg.at
www.perg.at


 

Ausgangspunkt: Mauthausen - der Donausteig-Startplatz „Mauthausen“ befindet sich beim Tourismusbüro (an der Uferpromenade südöstlich von Schloss Pragstein, nahe der Steinskulpturen).
Zielpunkt: Perg - der Donausteig-Startplatz „Perg“ liegt im nordöstlichen Bereich des Hauptplatzes (Baumgruppe mit Brunnen gegenüber der Stadtpfarrkirche).

Weitere Informationen:
  • Mehrtagestour
  • Verpflegungsmöglichkeit

Erreichbarkeit / Anreise

Anfahrt
Der Donausteig-Startplatz „Mauthausen“ befindet sich direkt beim Tourismusbüro von Mauthausen an der Uferpromenade südöstlich von Schloss Pragstein (Navi: A-4310 Mauthausen, Heindlkai 13).

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel
Mauthausen kann via Bahn und Bus erreicht werden. Ein Rücktransfer von Perg nach Mauthausen ist ebenfalls via Bahn und Bus möglich. Der Bus fährt dabei direkt vom Perger Hauptplatz bis zum Mauthausener Marktplatz. Bei der Bahnfahrt ist zu berücksichtigen, dass der Mauthausener Bahnhof in größerer Entfernung zum Ortszentrum liegt - somit muss zusätzlich entweder eine Busfahrt oder ein längerer Fußweg eingeplant werden! Informationen über die Fahrzeiten finden Sie unter http://www.ooevv.at .

Parken
Der Marktkern von Mauthausen ist vielfach Kurzparkzone - so auch die Parkplätze im Nahumfeld des Tourismusbüros. Ein kostenloser Dauer­parkplatz befindet sich 5 Gehminuten vom Donausteig-Startplatz entfernt (direkt an der Donau Bundesstraße nordwestlich von Schloss Pragstein; Nähe Volksschule).

Parkgebühren

Der Marktkern von Mauthausen ist vielfach Kurzparkzone - so auch die Parkplätze im Nahumfeld des Tourismusbüros. Ein kostenloser Dauer­parkplatz befindet sich 5 Gehminuten vom Donausteig-Startplatz entfernt (direkt an der Donau Bundesstraße nordwestlich von Schloss Pragstein; Nähe Volksschule).

Anreise mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln
Routenplaner für individuelle Anreise
günstigste Jahreszeit
  • Frühling
  • Sommer
  • Herbst

Für Informationen beim Kontakt anfragen.

Donausteig Etappe 4_G03 Mauthausen - Perg: „Von Granitkunst und Mühlsteinbrechern“
WGD Donau Oberösterreich Tourismus GmbH
Lindengasse 9
4040 Linz

Telefon +43 732 7277 - 800
Fax +43 732 7277 - 804
E-Mailmauthausen@oberoesterreich.at
Webwww.donauregion.at
Webwww.tiscover.com/mauthausen
http://www.donauregion.at
http://www.tiscover.com/mauthausen

Wir sprechen folgende Sprachen

Deutsch

GPS Daten downloaden
PDF erstellen

Tour-Details

Startort: 4310 Mauthausen
Zielort: 4320 Perg

Dauer: 3h 45m
Länge: 12,6 Kilometer
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): 164m
Höhenmeter (abwärts): 153m

niedrigster Punkt: 238m
höchster Punkt: 333m
Schwierigkeit: leicht
Kondition: mittel
Panorama: tolles Panorama

Wegbelag:
Asphalt, Schotter, Wanderweg

powered by TOURDATA