© ©WGDDonauOberoesterreichTourismusGmbHCMVisuals Donauradweg reloaded, Schlögener Schlinge, Donauschlinge, Schlögenerschlinge, Haibach
Search
Search
Close

Granite Beer Tour: Stage 3

  • culturally interesting
  • Multi-day tour

 Interactive elevation profile

Download GPS data
Create PDF

Tour-Details

Starting place: 4153 Peilstein im Mühlviertel
Destination: 4113 St. Martin im Mühlkreis

duration: 5h 45m
length: 51,1 km
Altitude difference (uphill): 1.164m
Altitude difference (downhill): 1.457m

Lowest point: 282m
Highest point: 645m
difficulty: medium
condition: difficult
panoramic view: Dreamtour

Paths covering:
Asphalt, Path / trail, Gravel, Other


Short description:
“Biking along ridges, between rivers and on a plateau with stunning views”



Technique: ***



Quality of experience: ******



Recommended season:

  • March
  • April
  • May
  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September
  • October



Properties:

  • Multi-stage route
  • Scenic
  • Refreshment stops available
  • Cultural/historical value
  • Geological highlights
  • Botanical highlights
  • Faunistic highlights

Description:
Highland biking with a rich variety of scenery, features and surprises along the slopes of the Kleine Mühl valley with crunchy climbs and fast descents. The route then crosses a series of secluded hinterland hills towards Sarleinsbach. Two ridges between rivers, which are typical of the region’s topography, are sure to provide an enjoyable ride – the first offering a robust physical challenge and the second promising pure fun. After a testing forest ascent from the Grosse Mühl valley come the delights of the panoramic plateau dotted with farms, where sublime biking through cultivated countryside meets fun on the trail between granite quarries. In Sankt Martin im Mühlkreis, a fabulous downhill stretch with views over the Danube Valley to the riverport of Untermühl delivers a spectacular end to the journey!

 


Highlights:



  • Neufelden (historical market square, hop gardens)

  • Secluded granite quarries (area in which famous Neuhauser granite is mined)

  • Brauerei Hofstetten (oldest brewery in Austria, granite-filtered beer)

  • Schloss Neuhaus palace (granite transport – end of field railway, start of cable car to Danube)

  • Untermühl (port on the Danube, location from which famous Neuhauser granite is shipped)



Directions:
Highland biking with a rich variety of scenery, features and surprises along the slopes of the Kleine Mühl valley with crunchy climbs and fast descents. The route then crosses a series of secluded hinterland hills towards Sarleinsbach. Two ridges between rivers, which are typical of the region’s topography, are then sure to provide an enjoyable ride – the first offering a robust physical challenge and the second promising pure fun. After a testing forest ascent from the Grosse Mühl valley come the delights of the panoramic plateau dotted with farms, where sublime biking through cultivated countryside meets fun on the trail between granite quarries. In Sankt Martin im Mühlkreis, a fabulous downhill stretch with views over the Danube Valley to the riverport of Untermühl delivers a spectacular end to the journey!

 


The historical market at Peilstein im Mühlviertel is the starting point for the final leg of the tour. Located on a hill above the Kleine Mühl river, its name is said to derive from a hunting ground. A fast loop spirals down into the valley, back up on the other side of the valley to Stierberg and then back again. This is followed by some majestic high ridge biking along the Kleine Mühl valley, taking in lonely farm roads, quaint forest paths, idyllic meadow routes, sublime views and more. Leisurely riding interspersed with crunchy climbs and fast descents! Highest point: in the mountainous forest between Rampetzreit und Hennerbach (640 metres). From Rutzersdorf, you climb a crisp double hill in the agricultural backcountry (highest point: Innerhötzendorf at 580 metres). After a brief chance to recharge your batteries riding through a secluded forested valley and then a tricky steep climb, you will have reached the historical market at Sarleinsbach. At the attractive market square stand the centuries-old grand houses of local farmers who made a prosperous living for themselves and acquired full rights as burghers in the town.


 


Then begins a special part of the Granite County highlands: the chance to bike down a ridge between rivers! After a rapid descent into Lichtenbach valley, you will begin to cross your first ridge between rivers (4.5 kilometres, 140-metre ascent, 180-metre descent) into the Kleine Mühl valley. The steep climb leads over a country lane, then onto a rough-and-ready forest trail to Obernberg (600 metres), the highest point. Congratulations! Let your heart rate come down for a while as you enjoy the stunning views. Finally, whiz through 3.2 kilometres of beautiful farmland accompanied by short counter-climbs into the forested Kleine Mühl valley. The route follows the river along a quiet country road.


 


In Hühnergeschrei, you will begin to cross your second ridge between rivers (8 kilometres, 220-metre ascent, 200-metre descent) into the Grosse Mühl valley. This stretch of the route takes the rider from deep forested valley up a high ridge also used for farming. After the village of Partenreit, the panorama opens up. Shortly afterwards, you will have reached the highest point (566 metres). Well done! Next up is a 3.2-kilometre section of pure joy, running through idyllic Mühlviertel countryside, past the fresh fragrances of the hop fields at harvest time, then onto an enjoyable trail alongside a shady stream wending its way through coniferous forest, before reaching a secluded collector road.


After a short counter-climb, you will be rolling into the baroque market square at Neufelden. Located on a headland surrounded by the Grosse Mühl river, the magnificent townhouses are testament to the prosperity generated through trade and commerce. The salt from Obermühl, too, was brought here on its way to Bohemia. The steep forest slope descends quickly to the Grosse Mühl, then the route follows the history-steeped river around the headland.


 


A rough-and-ready forest ascent takes you across to the panoramic plateau dotted with farms, beginning a sublime ride through the cultivated landscape with a feeling of almost endless expanse. Then, after a colourful patchwork of fields and a brief dip into the mini valley cradling a stream, beckons the village of Kleinzell im Mühlkreis. This is followed by one of the true gems of Granite Country biking: a 2.5-kilometre descent on which bikers can cruise down the enjoyable asphalt. Plus, there are some short trails past secluded quarries, where the famous Neuhaus granite is mined. Visitors interested in finding out more about granite mining in the region can visit the Erlebniswelt Granit open-air museum in Plöcking, which is just a kilometre’s detour away. From the deep, wooded mini valley in which Diesenbach stream flows, the sometimes challenging route leads around 170 metres up over a high ridge used for farming up to the house at Lanzersdorf 17, the highest point of the route up here on the plateau (595 metres). Congratulations! The following stretch allows you to recharge your batteries as you sail along with breath-taking panoramic views over the Alps. The path undulates somewhat as you head towards the Brauerei Hofstetten, the oldest brewery in Austria, and down towards Sankt Martin im Mühlkreis. The special importance of the village only becomes evident with a realisation of its history as a stop on the salt road to Bohemia. Top tip: Neuhauser granite, including in sculpture form, can be seen in the parish church’s artistic ribbed vault, and the region’s delicious granite-filtered beer bespeaks a long tradition of hospitality. Now, the way back to the deep Danube Valley begins. A fast-paced descent leads down into the secluded depression that is home to Dreissenbach stream, offering a surprise in the form of a brief but bumpy trail ascent through meadows and woodland. Afterwards, you will enjoy a fabulous panoramic view of the Danube Valley from a ridge – a true highlight of the trip! One short and fun ascent later, you will be crossing the final mini valley towards the magnificent Schloss Neuhaus, a private palace. It was here that the field railway once transported Neuhaus granite from the quarries by cable car down to the Danube. Afterwards, you will dive back into the ancient, forested gorge of the Danube Valley, racing down to the Danubeside port of Untermühl, where this same granite was loaded onto ships. Granite Country biking – an unforgettable experience!

Starting point: Peilstein im Mühlviertel
Destination: Untermühl

further information:
  • Multi-day tour
  • Board possible

Accessibility / arrival



Public Transit
Location and getting there

How to arrive in the Danube Upper Austrian region?


The fast way to your destination – by train, bus, car, boat or plane.

Travelling by public transport
Route planner for independent travellers
Most economical season
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn

Please get in touch for more information.


Granite Beer Tour: Stage 3
WGD Donau Oberösterreich Tourismus GmbH
Lindengasse 9
4040 Linz

Phone +43 732 7277 - 800
Fax machine +43 732 7277 - 804
E-Mailinfo@donauregion.at
Webwww.donauregion.at
http://www.donauregion.at

 Interactive elevation profile

Download GPS data
Create PDF

Tour-Details

Starting place: 4153 Peilstein im Mühlviertel
Destination: 4113 St. Martin im Mühlkreis

duration: 5h 45m
length: 51,1 km
Altitude difference (uphill): 1.164m
Altitude difference (downhill): 1.457m

Lowest point: 282m
Highest point: 645m
difficulty: medium
condition: difficult
panoramic view: Dreamtour

Paths covering:
Asphalt, Path / trail, Gravel, Other

© ©WGDDonauOberoesterreichTourismusGmbHCMVisuals Donauradweg reloaded, Schlögener Schlinge, Donauschlinge, Schlögenerschlinge, Haibach

DONAU OBERÖSTERREICH
bewegt. berührt.

Suche
Suchen
Schließen

Granit-Bier-Runde: Etappe 3

  • kulturell interessant
  • Mehrtagestour

Interaktives Höhenprofil

GPS Daten downloaden
PDF erstellen

Tour-Details

Startort: 4153 Peilstein im Mühlviertel
Zielort: 4113 St. Martin im Mühlkreis

Dauer: 5h 45m
Länge: 51,1 Kilometer
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): 1.164m
Höhenmeter (abwärts): 1.457m

niedrigster Punkt: 282m
höchster Punkt: 645m
Schwierigkeit: mittel
Kondition: schwer
Panorama: Traumtour

Wegbelag:
Asphalt, Pfad / Trail, Schotter, Sonstiges


Kurzbeschreibung:

„Höhenrücken-Biken, Zwischen-Fluss-Rücken & Panorama-Hochplateau“



Technik: ***


Erlebniswert: ******


Empfohlene Jahreszeiten:
  • März
  • April
  • Mai
  • Juni
  • Juli
  • August
  • September
  • Oktober


Eigenschaften:
  • Etappentour
  • aussichtsreich
  • Einkehrmöglichkeit
  • kulturell / historisch
  • geologische Highlights
  • botanische Highlights
  • faunistische Highlights
Beschreibung:

Entlang der Talflanke des Kleinen Mühltals überrascht facettenreiches Höhenrücken-Biken mit knackigen Anstiegen & flotten Abfahrten. Über versteckte Hinterlandhügel geht´s weiter nach Sarleinsbach. Zwei regionstypische Zwischen-Fluss-Rücken sorgen infolge für Bikespaß: der erste knackig sportlich, der zweite Genussbiken pur. Nach zünftigem Waldanstieg aus dem Großen Mühltal begeistert das bäuerliche Panorama-Hochplateau: erhabenes Kulturradeln trifft auf Trail-Fun zwischen Granitsteinbrüchen. In St. Martin im Mühlkreis rundet eine sagenhafte Donautalblick-Abfahrt zum Donauhafenort Untermühl die Runde perfekt ab. Ein grandioses Finale!


 


Highlights:



  • Neufelden (Historischer Marktplatz, Hopfengärten)

  • Verborgene Granitsteinbrüche (Abbaugebiet des berühmten Neuhauser Granits)

  • Brauerei Hofstetten (älteste Brauerei Österreichs, Granitbier)

  • Schloss Neuhaus (Granittransport – Ende der Feldbahn, Beginn der Drahtseilbahn zur Donau)

  • Donauhafenort Untermühl (Verladestelle des berühmten Neuhauser Granits)



Wegbeschreibung:

Entlang der Talflanke des Kleinen Mühltals überrascht facettenreiches Höhenrücken-Biken mit knackigen Anstiegen & flotten Abfahrten. Über versteckte Hinterlandhügel geht´s weiter nach Sarleinsbach. Zwei regionstypische Zwischen-Fluss-Rücken sorgen jetzt für Bikespaß: der erste knackig sportlich, der zweite Genussbiken pur. Nach zünftigem Waldanstieg aus dem GroßenMühltal begeistert das bäuerliche Panorama-Hochplateau: erhabenes Kulturradeln trifft auf Trail-Fun zwischen Granitsteinbrüchen. In St. Martin im Mühlkreis rundet eine sagenhafte Donautalblick-Abfahrt zum Donauhafenort Untermühl die Runde perfekt ab. Ein grandioses Finale!


 


Der historische Markt Peilstein im Mühlviertel ist Ausgangspunkt für die finale Etappe. Auf einem Hügel über der Kleinen Mühl gelegen, soll sich dessen Name von einem Jagdplatz ableiten, an dem Wild gebeilt (= erlegt) wurde. Eine flotte Schleife führt ins Tal hinab, auf der anderen Talseite hoch nach Stierberg und wieder zurück. Es folgt herrliches Höhenrücken-Biken entlang des Kleinen Mühltals: einsame Bauernstraßen, urige Waldwege, idyllische Wiesenwege, erhabene Ausblicke, ... Genussradeln wechselt mit knackigen Anstiegen und rasanten Abfahrten! Höchster Punkt: Im Bergwald zwischen Rampetzreit und Hennerbach (640 m). Ab Rutzersdorf erklimmen Sie einen knackigen bäuerlichen Doppelhügel im Hinterland (Höchster Punkt: Innerhötzendorf 580 m). Kurze Regenerationsfahrt in einem verborgenen Waldtal und nach einem tricky Steilanstieg stehen Sie im historischen Markt Sarleinsbach. Am schmucken Marktplatz erzählen übrigens adrette Ackerbürgerhäuser von zu Wohlstand gekommenen Ortsbauern mit Bürgerrechten.


 


Jetzt beginnt eine Besonderheit des Granit(hoch)landes: Zwischen-Fluss-Rücken-Biken! Nach rasanter Abfahrt ins Lichtenbachtal startet die Überquerung des ersten Zwischen-Fluss-Rückens (4,5 km, 140 Hm Anstieg, 180 Hm Abfahrt) ins Kleine Mühltal. Der steile Anstieg führt über eine Bauernstraße, dann auf einem knackigen Waldfahrweg nach Obernberg (600 m), dem höchsten Punkt. Gratulation! Schöner Ausblick lässt den Puls runterkommen. Schließlich sausen Sie genussvoll 3,2 km durch schönes Bauernland und mit kurzen Gegenanstiegen ins waldreiche Kleine Mühltal. Die Route folgt dem Fluss auf ruhiger Landstraße.


 


In Hühnergeschrei startet die Überquerung des zweiten Zwischen-Fluss-Rückens (8 km, 220 Hm Anstieg, 200 Hm Abfahrt) ins Große Mühltal. Aus dem tiefen Waldtal radeln Sie genussvoll über einen bäuerlichen Höhenrücken empor. Nach der Ortschaft Partenreit öffnet sich das Panorama, kurz darauf stehen Sie am höchsten Punkt (566 m). Gratulation! Nun begeistert eine 3,2 km lange Genussabfahrt: durch uriges Mühlviertler Landidyll - vorbei an zur Erntezeit würzig duftenden Hopfengärten -, dann durch schattigen Nadelwaldgraben mit kurzem Trailspaß und später auf verborgener Zubringerstraße.


Nach kurzem Gegenanstieg stehen Sie am barocken Marktplatz von Neufelden. Auf einer Landzunge von der Großen Mühl umflossen gelegen, erzählen die prachtvollen Bürgerhäuser von Wohlstand durch Handel. Auch das Salz aus Obermühl – Sie erinnern sich – kam hier auf dem Weg nach Böhmen vorbei. Flott geht´s die steile Waldflanke hinab zur Großen Mühl, dann folgt die Route dem geschichtsträchtigen Fluss um die Landzunge.


 


Ein knackiger Waldanstieg bringt Sie gegenüber auf das bäuerliche Panorama-Hochplateau. Dort startet erhabenes Kulturradeln mit grenzenlosem Weitegefühl. Durch ein farbenfrohes Felder-Mosaik geht´s - mit kurzem Grabenausflug - nach Kleinzell im Mühlkreis. Dort folgt ein Granitbike-Gustostückerl: Eine 2,5 km lange Abfahrt mit genussvollem Asphaltsurfen und kurzen Trailstücken vorbei an verborgenen Granitsteinbrüchen! In diesen wird der berühmte Neuhauser Granit abgebaut. Mehr dazu lässt sich in der Erlebniswelt Granit in Plöcking erfahren (1 km Abstecher notwendig). Aus dem tiefen Waldgraben des Diesenbaches führt die Route – teils zünftig - über einen bäuerlichen Höhenrücken rund 170 Höhenmeter hinauf zum Bauernweiler Lanzersdorf 17, dem höchsten Punkt (595 m) der Route hier am Hochplateau. Gratulation! Zum Regenerieren verhilft glückseliges Panoramacruisen mit atemberaubendem Alpenblick. Leicht wellig geht´s an der Brauerei Hofstetten, der ältesten Brauerei Österreichs, vorbei, hinab nach St. Martin im Mühlkreis. Die besondere Bedeutung des Dorfes eröffnet sich erst mit dem Wissen um dessen Historie: Stützpunkt an der Salzroute nach Böhmen! Tipp: Neuhauser Granit(kunst) lässt sich in der Pfarrkirche sehen - das kunstvolle Netzrippengewölbe - und das köstliche Granitbier der Region erzählt von langer Versorgungstradition. Nun beginnt die Rückkehr ins tiefe Donautal. Eine temporeiche Abfahrt führt in den versteckten Dreißenbachgraben hinab, um dort mit einem kurzen, aber knackigen Wiesen-Wald-Trailanstieg zu überraschen. Im Anschluss begeistert ein Panorama-Geländerücken mit sagenhaftem Blick ins Donautal. Ein Highlight! Kurzer Genussanstieg und flott queren Sie den letzten Graben zum prachtvollen (Privat)Schloss Neuhaus. Hier wurde übrigens einst der Neuhauser Granit von der Feldbahn aus den Granitsteinbrüchen auf die Drahtseilbahn zur Donau hinunter umgeladen. Danach tauchen Sie wieder in den urigen Schluchtwald des Donauengtales ein und flitzen hinunter in den Donauhafenort Untermühl, dem Verladehafen des Neuhauser Granits. Granitbiken – die Faszination des Granit(hoch)landes erleben!

Ausgangspunkt: Peilstein im Mühlviertel
Zielpunkt: Untermühl

Weitere Informationen:
  • Mehrtagestour
  • Verpflegungsmöglichkeit

Erreichbarkeit / Anreise



Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Anreise in die Donauregion


Wie in die Donauregion Oberösterreich anreisen?


Der schnelle Weg ans Ziel – mit Bahn, Bus, Auto, Schiff oder Flugzeug.

Anreise mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln
Routenplaner für individuelle Anreise
günstigste Jahreszeit
  • Frühling
  • Sommer
  • Herbst

Für Informationen beim Kontakt anfragen.


Granit-Bier-Runde: Etappe 3
WGD Donau Oberösterreich Tourismus GmbH
Lindengasse 9
4040 Linz

Telefon +43 732 7277 - 800
Fax +43 732 7277 - 804
E-Mail info@donauregion.at
Web www.donauregion.at
http://www.donauregion.at

Interaktives Höhenprofil

GPS Daten downloaden
PDF erstellen

Tour-Details

Startort: 4153 Peilstein im Mühlviertel
Zielort: 4113 St. Martin im Mühlkreis

Dauer: 5h 45m
Länge: 51,1 Kilometer
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): 1.164m
Höhenmeter (abwärts): 1.457m

niedrigster Punkt: 282m
höchster Punkt: 645m
Schwierigkeit: mittel
Kondition: schwer
Panorama: Traumtour

Wegbelag:
Asphalt, Pfad / Trail, Schotter, Sonstiges