© ©WGDDonauOberoesterreichTourismusGmbHCMVisuals Donauradweg reloaded, Schlögener Schlinge, Donauschlinge, Schlögenerschlinge, Haibach
Search
Search
Close

Grande Granite Tour: Stage 4

  • culturally interesting
  • Multi-day tour

 Interactive elevation profile

Download GPS data
Create PDF

Tour-Details

Starting place: 4181 Oberneukirchen
Destination: 4113 St. Martin im Mühlkreis

duration: 4h 45m
length: 44,8 km
Altitude difference (uphill): 845m
Altitude difference (downhill): 1.293m

Lowest point: 282m
Highest point: 748m
difficulty: medium
condition: medium
panoramic view: Dreamtour

Paths covering:
Asphalt, Path / trail, Gravel, Other

powered by TOURDATA | Suggest a change

Short description:
“Plateau with panoramic views and detours down valleys”


Technique: ***


Quality of experience: ******


Recommended season:
  • March
  • April
  • May
  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September
  • October


Properties:
  • Multi-stage route
  • Scenic
  • Refreshment stops available
  • Cultural/historical value
  • Geological highlights
  • Botanical highlights
  • Faunistic highlights
Description:
From the mountaintop village of Waxenberg, you will whiz effortlessly back down to the idyllic, meadowy Kleine Rodl valley. A short climb through a stretch of forest, then you will be standing at the last ridge of northern Granite Country. Meandering broadly, the route leads down through secluded valleys to Neusserling. This is where the farm-dotted panoramic plateau begins, interspersed with deep, forested mini valleys. Here, sublime biking through cultivated countryside meets fun in the small valleys – with some tricky spots along the way. In Sankt Martin im Mühlkreis, a fabulous downhill stretch with views over the Danube Valley to the riverport of Untermühl delivers a perfect ending to the section.

 


Highlights:



  • Waxenberg (village with ruins of castle at summit, lookout tower with 360-degree panoramic view, palace)

  • Pesenbachtal Nature Reserve (first nature reserve in the Mühlviertel) 

  • Sankt Martin im Mühlkreis (area in which famous Neuhauser granite is mined, granite-filtered beer)

  • Schloss Neuhaus palace (granite transport – field railway terminates, cable car to Danube begins)

  • Untermühl (port on the Danube, location from which famous Neuhauser granite is shipped)

  • Overnight location: By the port on the Danube at Untermühl



Directions:
From the mountaintop village of Waxenberg, you will whiz effortlessly back down to the idyllic, meadowy Kleine Rodl valley. A short climb through a stretch of forest, then you will be standing at the last ridge of northern Granite Country. Meandering broadly, the route leads down through secluded valleys to Neusserling. This is where the farm-dotted panoramic plateau begins, interspersed with deep, forested mini valleys. Here, sublime biking through cultivated countryside meets fun in the small valleys – with some tricky spots along the way. In Sankt Martin im Mühlkreis, a fabulous downhill stretch with views over the Danube Valley to the riverport of Untermühl delivers a perfect ending to the section.

 


Waxenberg: The ruined castle at the summit is located on a forested, cone-shaped mountain above the Kleine Rodl valley and the pretty village on the adjacent anticline. The castle was built at the time when parts of the Mühlviertel’s primeval forests were being opened up and developed, providing a seat of power in the centre of the region’s largest clearing domain. Top tip: The lookout tower on the castle offers 360-degree panoramic views from the Bohemian Forest to the Alps – a true highlight of the tour! Next, you can flow freely ahead, whizzing through mixed mountainside forest, later following the rhythm of winding farm roads through gently undulating Mühlviertel farmland into the meadowy Kleine Rodl valley. Top-notch biking! Loymühle mill then emerges ahead, followed by an ascent (elevation gain: 150 metres), initially going steeper up the mountainside forest, then taking a more relaxed turn on rural tracks. Once you reach Buchholz, you will be standing on the final ridge (720 metres) of northern Granite Country. Congratulations! Heading for the rear side of the summit, a spell of cruising along at high elevation with views over the Alps is sure to evoke a feeling of pure freedom. The downhill trail then leads into a hidden side valley. A short ascent is called for, before riding further down to Neusserling, meandering enjoyably downwards into a secluded depression in the terrain. This is where the farm-dotted panoramic plateau begins, interspersed with deep, forested mini valleys. Here, sublime biking through cultivated countryside with a feeling of almost endless expanse meets fun riding through the narrow valleys – with some tricky spots along the way! The route leads through three smaller valleys – the middle one boasting a short trail – into the smart high plateau village of Herzogsdorf. Here, the elevated plain shows its most attractive face, offering a dreamlike long-distance descent with a blissful stretch of asphalt weaving through the plateau’s foothills down to Böckstein! The trails during the following digression into the Eschelbach stream valley are guaranteed to exhilarate: a short, tricky, steep descent into the forested valley, some streamside biking, then a crunchy climb back up to the plateau. Without a doubt, the most technically demanding part of the entire tour! From the panoramic plateau, you can advance downhill into the Pesenbach stream valley on pleasant side roads and then on to Bimberg on the opposite slope after a brief spell of cruising along at high altitude. Afterwards, one memorable delight follows the next – blissful biking along the Pesenbach valley floor, a breathy climb through forest to Gaisberg, cruising elegantly along with views far off into the distance among a patchwork of fields and huge farmhouses. The last valley detour leads down to the lonely part of the Pesenbach valley: the Pesenbachtal Nature Reserve! Surrounded by a quaint mixed forest, you will then ride upstream along historical tracks and narrow footpaths alongside the amber-coloured stream, awakening thoughts about when the long remote Mühlviertel was first settled in the distant past. After this, pedal back to the panoramic plateau via the secluded Wolfsdoppel valley and onwards to Sankt Martin im Mühlkreis. The special importance of the village only becomes evident with a realisation of its history as the area in which famous Neuhauser granite is mined and a stop on the salt road to Bohemia. Top tip: Neuhauser granite, including in sculpture form, can be seen in the parish church’s artistic ribbed vault, and the region’s delicious granite-filtered beer bespeaks a long tradition of hospitality. Now the way back to the deep Danube Valley begins. A fast-paced descent leads down into the secluded depression that is home to Dreissenbach stream, offering a surprise in the form of a brief but bumpy trail ascent through meadows and woodland. Afterwards, you will enjoy a fabulous panoramic view of the Danube Valley from a ridge – a true highlight of the trip! One short and fun ascent later, you will be crossing the final mini valley towards the magnificent Schloss Neuhaus, a private palace. It was here that the field railway once transported Neuhaus granite from the quarries by cable car down to the Danube. Afterwards, you will dive back into the ancient forested gorge of the Danube Valley, racing down to the Danubeside port of Untermühl, where this same granite was loaded onto ships.

Starting point: Waxenberg
Destination: Untermühl

further information:
  • Multi-day tour
  • Board possible

Accessibility / arrival



Public Transit
Location and getting there

How to arrive in the Danube Upper Austrian region?


The fast way to your destination – by train, bus, car, boat or plane.

Travelling by public transport
Route planner for independent travellers
Most economical season
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn

Please get in touch for more information.


Grande Granite Tour: Stage 4
WGD Donau Oberösterreich Tourismus GmbH
Lindengasse 9
4040 Linz

Phone +43 732 7277 - 800
Fax machine +43 732 7277 - 804
E-Mail info@donauregion.at
Web www.donauregion.at
http://www.donauregion.at

 Interactive elevation profile

Download GPS data
Create PDF

Tour-Details

Starting place: 4181 Oberneukirchen
Destination: 4113 St. Martin im Mühlkreis

duration: 4h 45m
length: 44,8 km
Altitude difference (uphill): 845m
Altitude difference (downhill): 1.293m

Lowest point: 282m
Highest point: 748m
difficulty: medium
condition: medium
panoramic view: Dreamtour

Paths covering:
Asphalt, Path / trail, Gravel, Other

powered by TOURDATA | Suggest a change

© ©WGDDonauOberoesterreichTourismusGmbHCMVisuals Donauradweg reloaded, Schlögener Schlinge, Donauschlinge, Schlögenerschlinge, Haibach

DONAU OBERÖSTERREICH
bewegt. berührt.

Suche
Suchen
Schließen

Grande-Granit-Runde: Etappe 4

  • kulturell interessant
  • Mehrtagestour

Interaktives Höhenprofil

GPS Daten downloaden
PDF erstellen

Tour-Details

Startort: 4181 Oberneukirchen
Zielort: 4113 St. Martin im Mühlkreis

Dauer: 4h 45m
Länge: 44,8 Kilometer
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): 845m
Höhenmeter (abwärts): 1.293m

niedrigster Punkt: 282m
höchster Punkt: 748m
Schwierigkeit: mittel
Kondition: mittel
Panorama: Traumtour

Wegbelag:
Asphalt, Pfad / Trail, Schotter, Sonstiges


Kurzbeschreibung:

„Panorama-Hochplateau mit Talabstechern“



Technik: ***



Erlebniswert: ******



Empfohlene Jahreszeiten:

  • März
  • April
  • Mai
  • Juni
  • Juli
  • August
  • September
  • Oktober



Eigenschaften:

  • Etappentour
  • aussichtsreich
  • Einkehrmöglichkeit
  • kulturell / historisch
  • geologische Highlights
  • botanische Highlights
  • faunistische Highlights

Beschreibung:

Vom Gipfelburg-Dorf Waxenberg saust das Bike flowig zurück ins idyllische Wiesental der Kleinen Rodl. Ein kurzer Waldanstieg, dann stehen Sie am letzten Höhenrücken des nördlichen Granitlandes. In weiten Mäandern führt die Route durch versteckte Täler hinunter nach Neußerling. Dort beginnt das bäuerliche Panorama-Hochplateau, durchsetzt mit tiefen Waldgräben. Erhabenes Kulturradeln trifft - teils tricky - Bikespaß in den Gräben. In St. Martin im Mühlkreis rundet eine sagenhafte Donautalblick-Abfahrt zum Donauhafenort Untermühl die Etappe perfekt ab.


 


Highlights:



  • Gipfelburg-Dorf Waxenberg (Gipfelburg-Ruine, 360°-Panorama-Aussichtsturm, Schloss)

  • Naturschutzgebiet Pesenbachtal (Erstes Naturschutzgebiet des Mühlviertels) 

  • St. Martin im Mühlkreis (Abbaugebiet des berühmten Neuhauser Granits, Granitbier)

  • Schloss Neuhaus (Granittransport – Ende der Feldbahn, Beginn der Drahtseilbahn zur Donau)

  • Donauhafenort Untermühl (Verladestelle des berühmten Neuhauser Granits)

  • Übernachtung: Im Donauhafenort Untermühl



Wegbeschreibung:

Vom Gipfelburg-Dorf Waxenberg saust das Bike flowig zurück ins idyllische Wiesental der Kleinen Rodl. Ein kurzer Waldanstieg, dann stehen Sie am letzten Höhenrücken des nördlichen Granitlandes. In weiten Mäandern führt die Route durch versteckte Täler hinunter nach Neußerling. Dort beginnt das bäuerliche Panorama-Hochplateau, durchsetzt mit tiefen Waldgräben. Erhabenes Kulturradeln trifft - teils tricky - Bikespaß in den Gräben. In St. Martin im Mühlkreis rundet eine sagenhafte Donautalblick-Abfahrt zum Donauhafenort Untermühl die Etappe perfekt ab.


 


Waxenberg – Herrschaftlich liegt die Gipfelburg(ruine) auf einem bewaldeten Bergkegel über dem Kleinen Rodltal und das schmucke Dörfchen im Geländesattel nebenan. Die Festung wurde übrigens zur Zeit der Erschließung der Mühlviertler Urwälder als Herrschaftssitz im Mittelpunkt der größten Rodungsherrschaft des Mühlviertels erbaut. Tipp: Der 360°-Panorama-Aussichtsturm auf der Burg lässt vom Böhmerwald bis zu den Alpen blicken - ein Highlight! Flowig saust das Bike durch Bergmischwald, später im Rhythmus kurviger Bauernstraßen durch sanft kupiertes Mühlviertler-Bauernland ins Wiesental der Kleinen Rodl. Bikeglück pur! Nach der Loymühle folgt ein Anstieg (150 Höhenmeter), erst steiler im Hangwald, dann entspannter auf bäuerlichen Fahrwegen. In Buchholz stehen Sie am letzten Höhenrücken (720 m) des nördlichen Granitlandes. Gratulation! Am Rückendach lässt kurzes Höhencruisen mit Alpenblick pure Freiheit spüren. Die Abfahrt führt mit Trailcharakter in ein verstecktes Seitental. Kurzer Anstieg und Sie biken in einer verborgenen Geländesenke in genussvollen Mäandern weiter hinunter nach Neußerling. Dort beginnt das bäuerliche Panorama-Hochplateau, durchsetzt mit tiefen Waldgräben. Erhabenes Kulturlandradeln mit grenzenlosem Weitegefühl trifft auf - teils tricky - Bikespaß in engen Tälern! Die Route führt durch drei kleinere Gräben, der mittlere mit kurzem Trailcharakter, ins adrette Hochplateau-Dorf Herzogsdorf. Hier präsentiert sich das Hochplateau von seiner schönsten Seite: traumhafte Weitblick-Abfahrt mit Asphaltwedeln voller Glückseligkeit am Plateau-Ausläufer nach Böckstein! Der anschließende Abstecher ins Eschelbachtal begeistert mit Trail-Fun: kurze tricky Steilabfahrt ins Waldtal, „Bach“-Biken entlang des Baches und knackigem Anstieg zurück aufs Hochplateau. Sicher der fahrtechnisch anspruchsvollste Abschnitt der Gesamtrunde! Vom Panorama-Hochplateau geht´s auf gemütlichen Nebenstraßen flott ins Pesenbachtal und am Gegenhang nach kurzem Höhencruisen bergab nach Bimberg. Im Anschluss jagt ein Gustostückerl das nächste: Genussradeln im Talboden des Pesenbachtals, zünftiger (Wald)Anstieg nach Gaisberg, erhabenes Weitblick-Cruisen zwischen Feldermosaik und riesigen Bauernhöfen, ... Der letzte Talabstecher führt hinab in den einsamen Teil des Pesenbachtals – das Naturschutzgebiet Pesenbachtal! Umgeben von urigem Mischwald biken Sie auf historischen Fahrwegen und schmalen Fußpfaden entlang des bernsteinfarbenen Bachlaufes stromauf. Gedanken an die Erstbesiedelung des lange abgeschiedenen Mühlviertels werden wach. Über den verborgenen Wolfsdoppel-Graben pedalieren Sie genussvoll zurück aufs Panorama-Hochplateau - nach St. Martin im Mühlkreis. Die besondere Bedeutung des Dorfes eröffnet sich erst mit dem Wissen um dessen Historie: Abbaugebiet des berühmten Neuhauser Granits und Stützpunkt an der Salzroute nach Böhmen! Tipp: Neuhauser Granit(kunst) lässt sich in der Pfarrkirche sehen - das kunstvolle Netzrippengewölbe - und das köstliche Granitbier der Region erzählt von langer Versorgungstradition. Nun beginnt die Rückkehr ins tiefe Donautal. Eine temporeiche Abfahrt führt in den versteckten Dreißenbachgraben hinab, um dort mit einem kurzen, aber knackigen Wiesen-Wald-Trailanstieg zu überraschen. Im Anschluss begeistert ein Panorama-Geländerücken mit sagenhaftem Blick ins Donautal. Ein Highlight! Kurzer Genussanstieg und flott queren Sie den letzten Graben zum prachtvollen (Privat)Schloss Neuhaus. Hier wurde übrigens einst der Neuhauser Granit von der Feldbahn aus den Granitsteinbrüchen auf die Drahtseilbahn zur Donau hinunter umgeladen. Danach tauchen Sie wieder in den urigen Schluchtwald des Donauengtales ein und flitzen hinunter in den Donauhafenort Untermühl, dem Verladehafen des Neuhauser Granits.

Ausgangspunkt: Waxenberg
Zielpunkt: Untermühl

Weitere Informationen:
  • Mehrtagestour
  • Verpflegungsmöglichkeit

Erreichbarkeit / Anreise



Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Anreise in die Donauregion


Wie in die Donauregion Oberösterreich anreisen?


Der schnelle Weg ans Ziel – mit Bahn, Bus, Auto, Schiff oder Flugzeug.

Anreise mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln
Routenplaner für individuelle Anreise
günstigste Jahreszeit
  • Frühling
  • Sommer
  • Herbst

Für Informationen beim Kontakt anfragen.


Grande-Granit-Runde: Etappe 4
WGD Donau Oberösterreich Tourismus GmbH
Lindengasse 9
4040 Linz

Telefon +43 732 7277 - 800
Fax +43 732 7277 - 804
E-Mailinfo@donauregion.at
Webwww.donauregion.at
http://www.donauregion.at

Interaktives Höhenprofil

GPS Daten downloaden
PDF erstellen

Tour-Details

Startort: 4181 Oberneukirchen
Zielort: 4113 St. Martin im Mühlkreis

Dauer: 4h 45m
Länge: 44,8 Kilometer
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): 845m
Höhenmeter (abwärts): 1.293m

niedrigster Punkt: 282m
höchster Punkt: 748m
Schwierigkeit: mittel
Kondition: mittel
Panorama: Traumtour

Wegbelag:
Asphalt, Pfad / Trail, Schotter, Sonstiges