© ©WGDDonauOberoesterreichTourismusGmbHCMVisuals Donauradweg reloaded, Schlögener Schlinge, Donauschlinge, Schlögenerschlinge, Haibach
Search
Search
Close

Grande Granite Tour: Stage 1

  • culturally interesting
  • Multi-day tour

 Interactive elevation profile

Download GPS data
Create PDF

Tour-Details

Starting place: 4085 Neustift im Mühlkreis
Destination: 4162 Julbach

duration: 7h 9m
length: 64,3 km
Altitude difference (uphill): 1.730m
Altitude difference (downhill): 1.293m

Lowest point: 282m
Highest point: 937m
difficulty: difficult
condition: very difficult
panoramic view: Dreamtour

Paths covering:
Asphalt, Gravel, Other

powered by TOURDATA | Suggest a change

Short description:
“A dash up to the peak of Granite Country’s highlands and uplands”


Technique: ***


Quality of experience: ******


Recommended season:
  • March
  • April
  • May
  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September
  • October


Properties:
  • Multi-stage route
  • Scenic
  • Refreshment stops available
  • Cultural/historical value
  • Geological highlights
  • Botanical highlights
  • Faunistic highlights
Description:
Starting from the deep Danube Gorge, bike to the village of Pfarrkirchen im Mühlkreis (840 metres) at the southern summit of the bevelled uplands and savour the panoramic views. After a fantastic downhill run with alpine scenery, the route follows the hilly agricultural landscape on the west slope of the mountain range. The second peak dash takes you from the forested summit of Ameisberg, the highest point of the uplands at 941 metres! Enjoyable downhills with a varied backdrop and a hilly stretch then take you up to the north end of the uplands. Then, it is a case of navigating a gently hilly highland with a harmonious patchwork of woodland and fields into the secluded village of Kohlstatt. A spectacular start!

 


Highlights:



  • Upper Danube Valley Nature Reserve (rare, forested gorge)

  • Pfarrkirchen im Mühlkreis (highest village in the region, panoramic viewpoint)

  • Ameisberg (highest mountain in the region, lookout point)

  • Schloss Altenhof palace (architectural gem)

  • Overnight accommodation: A secluded Mühlviertel inn



Directions:
Starting from the deep Danube Gorge, bike to the village of Pfarrkirchen im Mühlkreis (840 metres) at the southern summit of the bevelled uplands and savour the panoramic views. After a fantastic downhill run with alpine scenery, the route follows the hilly agricultural landscape on the west slope of the mountain range. The second peak dash takes you from the forested summit of Ameisberg, the highest point of the uplands at 941 metres! Enjoyable downhills with a varied backdrop and a hilly stretch then take you up to the north end of the uplands. Then, it is a case of navigating a gently hilly highland with a harmonious patchwork of woodland and fields into the secluded village of Kohlstatt. A spectacular start!

 


The Upper Danube Valley is over 90 kilometres long, making it one of the longest gorges along the Danube. Nestled in the deep gorge of the Upper Danube Valley, where the Ranna river flows into the Danube, the lonely hamlet of Rannamühl is the starting point for this choppy uphill blast. First, you will ride along the banks of the broad Danube downstream on quiet side roads. Around 1.7 kilometres after Niederranna begins the 550-metre summit dash! The first third of this ascent heads up the shady mixed forest in hairpin bends through the Danube Valley’s steep slope. At the legendary Schloss Marsbach castle, once a feared nest of robber barons in feudal times, the route swings up even more steeply for a short interval. Then the landscape opens up, with the first realisation of the elevation reached ensuring a welcome sense of success. You will subsequently pass through lush meadows, fertile fields, scattered farmers’ hamlets, woods and more besides –  in short, idyllic Mühlviertel countryside! Relatively leisurely country lanes then lead up a small hill to the mystical Labyrinth der Verwandlung (“Labyrinth of Transformation”) installation. The magic of the place prompts visitors to think about the sort of transformation that multi-day biking tours awaken in us – mountain biking as philosophical inspiration! Following the rhythm of the hills, you will then ride uphill to the ridge at Emmerstorf. Here, you can get a first view of the village of Hofkirchen in the centre of a rolling high plateau. After a loop with a refreshing descent and an enjoyable trail climb, you will be at the edge of the historical market. Slightly above the village stands the Labyrinth der Begegnung (“Labyrinth of Encounters”) installation, which recalls the local history of salt trading and from which a majestic view of the Alps can be taken in. A dirt road, itself with a panoramic vista, then ascends to the next stretch of high land – with some steep sections along the way. The last climb leads through wonderful mixed forest on the mountainside – initially on trails, then finally on a quiet country lane towards the village of Pfarrkirchen, which boasts breath-taking views of the surrounding scenery. This is the highest village in Mühlviertel Granite Country’s highlands and uplands. At the edge of the forest above the centre of the village is a magnificent panoramic viewpoint (840 metres), which is sure to delight those visitors who make it up there. Congratulations, you are standing at the southern summit of the bevelled uplands! Sensationally beautiful views down the valley reinforce the elevation you have reached, while the Alpine backdrop is no less breath-taking. This is followed by a blissful, dreamy downhill stretch, encompassing historical forest trails, effortless asphalt surfaces with astonishing views over the Alps and a free-flowing frolic through the forest until heading down to Schloss Altenhof, which is well worth stopping to see. The inhabited private palace on a terraced hill is a true gem, from the avenue running through it to its stately gardens and architecture. Once it belonged to the House of Falkensteiner, a powerful ruling family that was significantly involved in developing settlements from the Mühlviertel’s primeval forests. The route now follows the hilly agricultural landscape on the western slope of the upland. After a short and fun descent through meadows comes a hidden mini valley full of the spirit of Mühlviertel rural life, after which you can conquer the heart-pumping ascent to Schlag (elevation gain: 160 metres). Following the rhythm of the hills, you can then whiz along down to Aumühle mill with some short counter-climbs. There begins the second summit dash (410 metres)! This involves riding up a high ridge, taking you close to nature along tracks through fields and meadows as well as on lonely farm roads past a scattering of hamlets. As the elevation increases, the views over the surrounding scenery will open up – as will your sweat pores. Around the hamlet of Amesedt, the plateau allows a welcome opportunity to proceed at a more leisurely pace before immersing yourself in the forest at the summit. Short, steep steps require some adroitness from the rider. After a relaxed section of country lane, you will make the final climb through dreamlike mixed forest with a number of tricky spots to navigate. At the foot of the observation tower surrounded by the forest, you are at the highest point of either the bevelled uplands or Granite Country’s highlands – 941 metres. Congratulations! The castle-like viewing tower was built back in 1903 for tourist use, although today, it generally cannot be accessed. Next, a 3.5-kilometre downhill stretch with a varied backdrop is sure to put a smile on any biker’s face, followed by enjoyable trail riding through the high forest, which then opens up into visually beautiful landscape. The lowest point is reached at the hamlet of Mollmannsreith. A section across hilly terrain with a 140-metre ascent and a brisk 2-kilometre descent takes you through lonely coniferous forests and secluded farmland and onwards to Kollerschlag. The end of this settlement’s name means “clearing”, recalling the time in which sections of the Mühlviertel’s ancient forests were felled for development. Here at the north end of the elevated terrain begins a final climb into the uplands – a bending uphill course with 150 metres of elevation gain through striking shady forests and agricultural oases. The farming hamlet of Geretschlag is followed by an expanse of elevated, gently undulating terrain featuring a harmonious patchwork of woodland and fields up to the secluded village of Kohlstatt. All in all, a spectacular start!

Starting point: Rannamühl
Destination: Kohlstatt

further information:
  • Multi-day tour
  • Board possible

Accessibility / arrival



Public Transit
Location and getting there

How to arrive in the Danube Upper Austrian region?


The fast way to your destination – by train, bus, car, boat or plane.

Travelling by public transport
Route planner for independent travellers
Most economical season
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn

Please get in touch for more information.


Grande Granite Tour: Stage 1
WGD Donau Oberösterreich Tourismus GmbH
Lindengasse 9
4040 Linz

Phone +43 732 7277 - 800
Fax machine +43 732 7277 - 804
E-Mail info@donauregion.at
Web www.donauregion.at
http://www.donauregion.at

 Interactive elevation profile

Download GPS data
Create PDF

Tour-Details

Starting place: 4085 Neustift im Mühlkreis
Destination: 4162 Julbach

duration: 7h 9m
length: 64,3 km
Altitude difference (uphill): 1.730m
Altitude difference (downhill): 1.293m

Lowest point: 282m
Highest point: 937m
difficulty: difficult
condition: very difficult
panoramic view: Dreamtour

Paths covering:
Asphalt, Gravel, Other

powered by TOURDATA | Suggest a change

© ©WGDDonauOberoesterreichTourismusGmbHCMVisuals Donauradweg reloaded, Schlögener Schlinge, Donauschlinge, Schlögenerschlinge, Haibach

DONAU OBERÖSTERREICH
bewegt. berührt.

Suche
Suchen
Schließen

Grande-Granit-Runde: Etappe 1

  • kulturell interessant
  • Mehrtagestour

Interaktives Höhenprofil

GPS Daten downloaden
PDF erstellen

Tour-Details

Startort: 4085 Neustift im Mühlkreis
Zielort: 4162 Julbach

Dauer: 7h 9m
Länge: 64,3 Kilometer
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): 1.730m
Höhenmeter (abwärts): 1.293m

niedrigster Punkt: 282m
höchster Punkt: 937m
Schwierigkeit: schwer
Kondition: sehr schwer
Panorama: Traumtour

Wegbelag:
Asphalt, Schotter, Sonstiges


Kurzbeschreibung:

„Gipfelsturm aufs (Rumpf)Gebirge des Granit(hoch)landes“



Technik: ***


Erlebniswert: ******


Empfohlene Jahreszeiten:
  • März
  • April
  • Mai
  • Juni
  • Juli
  • August
  • September
  • Oktober


Eigenschaften:
  • Etappentour
  • aussichtsreich
  • Einkehrmöglichkeit
  • kulturell / historisch
  • geologische Highlights
  • botanische Highlights
  • faunistische Highlights
Beschreibung:

Aus der tiefen Donauschlucht biken Sie zum Panoramablick-Dorf Pfarrkirchen im Mühlkreis (840 m), am Südgipfel des (Rumpf)Gebirges! Nach traumhafter Alpenblick-Genussabfahrt folgt die Route der bäuerlichen Hügellandschaft an der Westflanke des Höhenzuges. Der zweite Gipfelsturm führt Sie auf den Mischwaldgipfel des Ameisberges (941 m), den höchsten Punkt des (Rumpf)Gebirges! Eine facettenreiche Fun-Abfahrt und hügelig geht´s zum Nordende des Höhenzuges. Im Anschluss radeln Sie durch ein sanft kupiertes Hochland mit harmonischem Wald-Feld-Mosaik ins abgeschiedene Kohlstatt. Ein grandioser Auftakt!


 


Highlights:



  • Europaschutzgebiet Oberes Donautal (Seltene Hangschluchtwälder)

  • Pfarrkirchen im Mühlkreis (höchstgelegenes Dorf der Region, Panorama-Blickplatz)

  • Ameisberg (höchster Berg der Region, Aussichtswarte)

  • Schloss Altenhof (Architektonisches Gesamtjuwel)

  • Übernachtung: In abgeschiedenem Mühlviertler Gasthof



Wegbeschreibung:

Aus der tiefen Donauschlucht biken Sie zum Panoramablick-Dorf Pfarrkirchen im Mühlkreis (840 m), am Südgipfel des (Rumpf)Gebirges! Nach traumhafter Alpenblick-Genussabfahrt folgt die Route der bäuerlichen Hügellandschaft an der Westflanke des Höhenzuges. Der zweite Gipfelsturm führt Sie auf den Mischwaldgipfel des Ameisberges (941 m), den höchsten Punkt des (Rumpf)Gebirges! Eine facettenreiche Fun-Abfahrt und hügelig geht´s zum Nordende des Höhenzuges. Im Anschluss radeln Sie durch ein sanft kupiertes Hochland mit harmonischem Wald-Feld-Mosaik ins abgeschiedene Kohlstatt. Ein grandioser Auftakt!


 


Das Obere Donautal – Mit über 90 km (!) eines der längsten Durchbruchstäler der Donau. In der tiefen Schlucht des Oberen Donautales - an der Rannamündung in die Donau - gelegen, ist das einsame Rannamühl der Startpunkt für diese knackige Gipfelsturmetappe. Zunächst radeln Sie sich entlang des breiten Donaustromes auf ruhigen Nebenstraßen flussabwärts warm. Rund 1,7 km nach Niederranna beginnt der 550-Höhenmeter-Gipfelsturm! Das erste Drittel führt im schattigen Mischwald in Serpentinen durch die steile Flanke des Donauengtals. Beim sagenumwobenen Schloss Marsbach, einst ein gefürchtetes Raubritternest, schwingt sich die Route kurz noch steiler auf. Dann öffnet sich die Landschaft - ein erstes Höhengefühl sorgt für ein willkommenes Erfolgserlebnis. Nun begeistern saftige Wiesen, fruchtbare Felder, verstreute Bauernweiler, kleine Wäldchen, ...  - Mühlviertler Landidyll pur! Über gemächlichere Güterwege geht´s auf einen kleinen Hügel zur mystischen Installation „Labyrinth der Verwandlung“. Die Magie des Ortes lässt unwillkürlich über die Verwandlung sinnieren, die mehrtägige Biketouren bei uns bewirken. Radeln als philosophische Inspiration! Im Rhythmus der Hügel radeln Sie bergan zum Geländerücken in Emmerstorf. Hier eröffnet sich ein erster Blick auf das Dorf Hofkirchen im Zentrum eines welligen Hochplateaus. Nach einer Schleife mit regenerierender Abfahrt und genussvollem Trail-Zwischenanstieg stehen Sie am Rand des historischen Marktes. Etwas oberhalb des Dorfes erinnert die Installation „Labyrinth der Begegnung“ an historischen Salzaustausch und überrascht mit sagenhaftem Alpenblick! Über einen panoramareichen Feldweg geht´s teils steil auf den nächsten Geländebalkon. Der letzte Aufschwung führt durch wundervollen Bergmischwald – anfangs auf trailartigen Waldwegen, final auf ruhiger Landstraße - zum Panoramablick-Dorf Pfarrkirchen. Es ist das höchste Dorf des Granit(hoch)landes. Am Waldrand oberhalb des Ortszentrums begeistert ein grandioser Panorama-Blickplatz (840 m). Gratulation, Sie stehen am Südgipfel des (Rumpf)Gebirges! Herrliche Tiefblicke lassen Höhe spüren und atemberaubende Alpenblicke grenzenlose Weite. Dann folgt eine 6 km lange Traumabfahrt voller Glückseligkeit: historische Waldwege mit Trailcharakter, atemberaubender Alpenblick beim Asphaltsurfen, flowiger Waldwegespaß, ... hinunter zum sehenswerten Schloss Altenhof. Das bewohnte Privat-Schloss auf einem terrassierten Hügel ist ein architektonisches Gesamtjuwel: Allee, Gartenanlage, Gebäude, ...! Einst gehörte es zur Grundherrschaft der Falkensteiner, einem mächtigen Herrschaftsgeschlecht das maßgeblich an der Erschließung der Mühlviertler Urwälder beteiligt war. Die Route folgt jetzt der bäuerlichen Hügellandschaft an der Westflanke des (Rumpf)Gebirges. Nach kurzer Wiesenweg-Funabfahrt bewältigen Sie durch einen verborgenen Graben voll lebendigem Mühlviertler-Landidyll den zünftigen Anstieg (160 Höhenmeter) nach Schlag. Im Rhythmus der Hügel sausen Sie im Geschwindigkeitsrausch und mit kurzen Gegenanstiegen hinab zur Aumühle. Dort beginnt der zweite Gipfelsturm (410 Höhenmeter)! Über naturnahe Feld- und Wiesenwege bzw. einsame Bauernstraßen radeln Sie vorbei an verstreuten Bauernweilern einen Höhenrücken bergauf. Mit zunehmender Höhe öffnen sich das Panorama sowie die Schweißporen. Das Plateau von Amesedt erlaubt willkommene Regeneration, dann tauchen Sie in den Gipfelwald ein. Kurze Steilstufen erfordern Fahrgeschick. Nach einem entspannten Landstraßenstück erklimmen Sie durch traumhaften Mischwald mit tricky Stellen die letzten Höhenmeter. Am Fuße der vom Wald umrahmten Aussichtswarte stehen Sie am höchsten Punkt (941 m) des (Rumpf)Gebirges sowie des Granit(hoch)landes. Gratulation! Die schlossartige Aussichtswarte wurde übrigens 1903 aus touristischen Überlegungen errichtet. Heute ist der Turm unregelmäßig zugänglich. Eine facettenreiche Abfahrt mit 3,5 km Länge sorgt für glückliches Lächeln: kurzer Trailspaß im Gipfelwald, dann öffnet sich genussvolles Landschaftskino vom Feinsten. In Mollmannsreith ist der tiefste Punkt erreicht. Eine hügelige Überfahrt mit 140 Höhenmeter-Anstieg und flotter 2 km-Abfahrt führt Sie durch einsame Nadelwälder und versteckte Bauernschaften nach Kollerschlag. Für Aufmerksame: Der Namensteil „-schlag“ bedeutet „Rodung“ und erinnert an die Zeit der Erschließung der Mühlviertler Urwälder: Hier am Nordende des (Rumpf)Gebirges startet ein letzter Höhenausflug ins (Rumpf)Gebirge, eine Bergschleife mit 150 Höhenmeter Anstieg durch schattige Bergwälder durchsetzt mit bäuerlichen Oasen. Ab der Bauernschaft Geretschlag begeistert ein sanft kupiertes Hochland mit harmonischem Wald-Feld-Mosaik bis ins abgeschiedene Kohlstatt. Ein grandioser Auftakt!

Ausgangspunkt: Rannamühl
Zielpunkt: Kohlstatt

Weitere Informationen:
  • Mehrtagestour
  • Verpflegungsmöglichkeit

Erreichbarkeit / Anreise



Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Anreise in die Donauregion


Wie in die Donauregion Oberösterreich anreisen?


Der schnelle Weg ans Ziel – mit Bahn, Bus, Auto, Schiff oder Flugzeug.

Anreise mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln
Routenplaner für individuelle Anreise
günstigste Jahreszeit
  • Frühling
  • Sommer
  • Herbst

Für Informationen beim Kontakt anfragen.


Grande-Granit-Runde: Etappe 1
WGD Donau Oberösterreich Tourismus GmbH
Lindengasse 9
4040 Linz

Telefon +43 732 7277 - 800
Fax +43 732 7277 - 804
E-Mail info@donauregion.at
Web www.donauregion.at
http://www.donauregion.at

Interaktives Höhenprofil

GPS Daten downloaden
PDF erstellen

Tour-Details

Startort: 4085 Neustift im Mühlkreis
Zielort: 4162 Julbach

Dauer: 7h 9m
Länge: 64,3 Kilometer
Höhenmeter (aufwärts): 1.730m
Höhenmeter (abwärts): 1.293m

niedrigster Punkt: 282m
höchster Punkt: 937m
Schwierigkeit: schwer
Kondition: sehr schwer
Panorama: Traumtour

Wegbelag:
Asphalt, Schotter, Sonstiges